La guerre de Libye s'étend à l'Égypte, à l'Algérie, au Niger et à l'Europe - Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye

Cet article est le deuxième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant l'éventail des retombées qui pourraient découler de la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons détaillé deux scénarios de débordement qui initient une nouvelle guerre englobant plus que la Libye. Nous avons examiné un cas de débordement dans une seule direction - où l'Europe est entraînée dans cette nouvelle guerre, ainsi qu'un cas de débordement dans deux directions, où l'Algérie et le Niger sont également entraînés dans la guerre. Dans cet article, nous conclurons les scénarios de contagion avec une contagion ayant lieu dans toutes les directions (ouest vers l'Algérie, sud vers le Niger, est vers l'Égypte, et nord vers l'Europe). Il est important de noter nos choix de sous-scénarios de contagion. Il y a ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La guerre de Libye s'étend à l'Europe, à l'Algérie et au Niger - Scénario 2.2 (1) - Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye

Cet article est le premier de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant l'éventail des retombées qui pourraient découler de la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons conclu les scénarios d'intervention internationale à la lumière d'un gouvernement d'unité fragmenté. Dans cet article, nous nous concentrerons sur les scénarios liés à la propagation du conflit dans une seule direction (vers l'Europe), puis dans deux directions (ouest vers l'Algérie et sud vers le Niger). Ces scénarios reposent sur l'hypothèse que l'évolution de la guerre civile entraîne un débordement. En conséquence, la guerre passe d'une guerre civile interne à l'intérieur des frontières libyennes, avec une certaine implication extérieure, à une guerre renouvelée qui englobe plus que des ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (9) Fragmentation et intervention internationale

Cet article est le neuvième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant l'éventail des interventions possibles dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons discuté d'une intervention internationale qui soutient un gouvernement d'unité, malgré la fragmentation initiale - un groupe de scénarios que nous résumons ici. Dans cet article, nous nous concentrerons sur les scénarios liés à la fragmentation continue du gouvernement d'unité, y compris les interventions qui peuvent se produire si le gouvernement d'unité échoue. Dans notre scénario, le gouvernement d'unité libyen soutenu par l'ONU est incapable d'atténuer la fragmentation de son leadership politique et de sa coalition armée. Les scénarios discutés ci-dessous mettent en évidence certains éléments cruciaux à prendre en compte : le succès ou l'échec d'une telle intervention dépendra fortement de ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (8) Intervention pour un gouvernement soutenu par l'ONU

Cet article est le huitième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant des interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons abordé une intervention internationale qui a commencé à soutenir le côté nationaliste du conflit, mais qui a rencontré des difficultés à s'associer avec les factions libyennes sur le terrain, ainsi qu'une campagne uniquement aérienne de la coalition internationale qui a abandonné la stratégie de partenariat avec un éventail de groupes libyens - un groupe de scénarios que nous concluons ici. Dans cet article, nous nous concentrerons sur les scénarios liés à une intervention qui soutient un gouvernement d'unité libyen soutenu par l'ONU, un cas très similaire à celui qui se dessine actuellement avec le gouvernement d'entente nationale. Dans notre scénario, notre gouvernement d'unité libyen soutenu par l'ONU ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (7) Libyens contre coalition internationale, tensions à venir

Cet article est le septième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant des interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons évoqué une intervention internationale qui est entrée dans le conflit libyen en faveur des nationalistes, mais qui s'est associée à plusieurs factions libyennes puissantes. Bien que la coalition préfère avoir autant de partenaires libyens que possible, elle se concentre davantage sur les groupes puissants, tels que Zintan, Misrata et l'armée libyenne. À ce stade de notre scénario, la coalition internationale éprouve des difficultés à s'associer aux factions libyennes et risque de voir les groupes partenaires se séparer. Remarque : compte tenu des futurs noms des factions potentielles qui résulteraient d'une nouvelle scission du gouvernement d'unité, nous utiliserons l'étiquette nationaliste pour ceux qui ont soutenu le gouvernement d'unité dominé par les nationalistes et les libéraux ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (6) Intervention internationale avec les partenaires libyens

Cet article est le sixième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant des interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons évoqué les étapes préliminaires d'une coalition internationale créée pour intervenir en Libye en faveur des nationalistes - soit sur invitation du gouvernement nationaliste, soit si le nouveau gouvernement d'union échoue et se fragmente. Cependant, le nouveau gouvernement d'accord national (GNA) de la Libye est maintenant reconnu par les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l'Italie, l'Allemagne et la France comme "le seul gouvernement légitime en Libye" (Déclaration de l'Union européenne, 13 mars 2016 ; Musa, Boston Globe, 13 mars 2016), ce qui signifie que toute intervention internationale qui favorise le côté nationaliste ne se produira désormais qu'après (et si) ce gouvernement d'unité se fragmente en anciennes factions. ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (5) Intervention internationale

Cet article est le cinquième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant des interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons évoqué une intervention qatarie en Libye du côté des islamistes. Ici, nous détaillerons les scénarios d'une intervention internationale en Libye en dehors de la région, qui pourrait se produire si les nationalistes et leur gouvernement internationalement reconnu (du moins jusqu'à ce que le pouvoir soit officiellement transféré à un gouvernement d'unité) lancent une invitation aux acteurs extérieurs, ou si le gouvernement d'unité échoue complètement. Le gouvernement d'unité pourrait échouer si les politiciens libyens rivaux ne parviennent pas à former un gouvernement d'unité, ou si le gouvernement d'unité est formé, mais ne parvient pas à progresser et se désintègre donc en anciennes factions. Si nous ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (4) Le Qatar intervient du côté islamiste

Cet article est le quatrième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant des interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons évoqué une intervention égyptienne en Libye du côté des nationalistes. Dans cet article, nous détaillerons une intervention qatarie du côté des islamistes, ainsi que les résultats possibles d'un conflit intensifié et prolongé résultant d'une intervention égyptienne ou qatarie. À ce stade de nos scénarios, les acteurs extérieurs ont décidé d'intervenir militairement en Libye en prenant parti pour les islamistes ou les nationalistes qui pourraient émerger d'une nouvelle scission du gouvernement d'entente nationale (voir article précédent). En considérant les futurs noms des factions potentielles qui résulteraient d'une nouvelle scission ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 2 (3) L'Egypte intervient du côté des nationalistes

Récemment, des annonces ont été faites concernant l'acceptation d'un accord de paix facilité par l'ONU avec un cadre pour former un gouvernement d'entente nationale (Centre de nouvelles de l'ONU, 2 janvier 2016). Cependant, seuls 88 législateurs des gouvernements rivaux étaient présents lors de la signature, tandis que le vice-président du GNC a déclaré le 2 janvier que le GNC rejetait l'accord, et que les législateurs présents ne représentaient "qu'eux-mêmes" - ce qui signifie des difficultés et une confusion concernant un accord pleinement approuvé par les deux parties (Abbas, Albawaba News, 2 janvier 2016 ; DePetris, Quartz, 1er janvier 2016). En outre, bien que l'accord de paix soit soutenu par la communauté internationale et que l'ONU ait promis de soutenir la Libye dans sa transition (Ibid ; Narayan et Robertson, CNN, 17 décembre 2015), [...]

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Scénario 2 (2) - La force arabe commune intervient

Cet article est le deuxième de notre série consacrée aux scénarios décrivant les interventions dans la guerre en Libye. Comme détaillé précédemment, nous avons atteint l'étape suivante dans nos sous-scénarios : Des acteurs extérieurs ont décidé d'intervenir militairement en Libye en prenant parti pour le GNC ou le COR (Sc 2.1.1). La Ligue des États arabes (LEA) se réunit pour décider d'une intervention en Libye et pour former la Force arabe commune correspondante. Compte tenu de la position de chaque pays, les débats sont pour le moins animés (Sc 2.1.1.1). En conséquence, la Ligue arabe se divise en interne sur la décision d'intervenir. Néanmoins, une force arabe conjointe est formée, impliquant trois pays, l'Égypte, les Émirats arabes unis et la Jordanie. Il s'agit de ...

La partie restante de cet article est destinée à notre membres. Assurez-vous d'obtenir de vraies analyses et non des opinions ou, pire, de fausses nouvelles. Devenez l'un de nos membres et accédez à cet article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR

The Libyan War Spills Over to Egypt, Algeria, Niger and Europe – Scenarios for the Future of Libya

This article is the second of our series focusing on scenarios depicting the range of spillover that could stem from the Libyan war. In our previous article, we detailed two scenarios of spillover that initiate a renewed war encompassing more than just Libya. We discussed a case of spillover in one direction – where Europe is drawn into this renewed war, as well as spillover in two directions, where Algeria and Niger are also drawn into the war. In this article, we shall conclude the spillover scenarios with a contagion taking place in all directions (west towards Algeria, south towards Niger, east towards Egypt, and north towards Europe). It is important to note our choices for spillover sub-scenarios. There are […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Libyan War Spills Over to Europe, Algeria, and Niger – Sc 2.2 (1) – Scenarios for the Future of Libya

This article is the first of our series focusing on scenarios depicting the range of spillover that could stem from the Libyan war. In our previous article, we concluded the scenarios for international intervention in light of a fragmenting unity government. In this article, we shall focus on scenarios related to conflict spillover in only one direction (towards Europe), and then spillover in two directions (west towards Algeria and south towards Niger). These scenarios are grounded in the premises that the evolution of the civil war leads to spillover. As a result, the war changes from an internal civil war within the bounds of Libyan borders with a measure of external involvement, to a renewed war that encompasses more than […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (9) Fragmentation and International Intervention

This article is the ninth of our series focusing on scenarios depicting the range of possible interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed an international intervention that supports a unity government, despite initial fragmentation – a group of scenarios we wrap up here. In this article, we shall focus on scenarios related to the continued fragmentation of the unity government, including interventions that may occur if the unity government fails. In our scenario, our UN-backed Libyan unity government is unable to mitigate the fragmentation in its political leadership and armed coalition. The scenarios discussed below point out some crucial elements that should be considered: the success or failure of such an intervention will depend heavily on […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (8) Intervention for a UN-backed Government

This article is the eighth of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed an international intervention that started to support the nationalist side of the conflict, but encountered difficulties in partnering with Libyan factions on the ground, as well as an air-strike-only campaign by the international coalition that abandoned the strategy of partnering with a spectrum of Libyan groups – a group of scenarios we wrap up here. In this article, we shall focus on scenarios related to an intervention that supports a UN-backed Libyan unity government, a case very similar to what is currently taking shape with the Government of National Accord. In our scenario, our UN-backed Libyan unity […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Libya’s Future Scenarios – Sc 2 (7) Libyans vs International Coalition, Tensions ahead

This article is the seventh of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed an international intervention that entered the Libyan conflict in favor of the nationalists, but partnered with several powerful Libyan factions. Though the coalition prefers as many Libyan partners as possible, they focus more on the powerful groups, such as Zintan, Misrata, and the Libyan military. At this stage of our scenario, the international coalition encounters difficulties in partnering with Libyan factions and faces the potential of partnered groups breaking away. Note: Considering the future names of potential factions that would result from a new split between the unity government, we shall use the label nationalist for those that supported the nationalist/liberal-dominated […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (6) International Intervention with Libyan Partners

This article is the sixth of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed the preliminary stages of an international coalition created to intervene in Libya in favor of the nationalists – either by invitation from the nationalist government, or if the new unity government fails and fragments. However, Libya’s new Government of National Accord (GNA) is now recognized by the U.S., UK, Italy, Germany and France as “the only legitimate government in Libya” (European Union Statement, March 13, 2016; Musa, Boston Globe, March 13, 2016), which means that any international intervention that favors the nationalist side will now occur only after (and if) this unity government fragments into former factions. […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (5) International Intervention

This article is the fifth of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed a Qatari intervention in Libya on the Islamist side. Here, we shall detail scenarios for an international intervention in Libya from beyond the region, which could occur if the nationalists and their internationally recognized government (at least until power is officially transferred to a unity government) extend an invitation to external actors, or if the unity government fails entirely. The unity government could fail if rival Libyan politicians are unable to form a unity government at all, or if the unity government is formed, but fails to make progress and thus disintegrates into former factions. If we […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (4) Qatar Intervenes on the Islamist Side

This article is the fourth of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. In our previous article, we discussed an Egyptian intervention in Libya on the nationalist side. In this article, we shall detail a Qatari intervention on the side of the Islamists, as well as possible scenario outcomes for an intensified, protracted conflict that results from either an Egyptian or Qatari intervention. At this stage for our scenarios, external actors have decided to militarily intervene in Libya by taking a side with either the Islamists or nationalists that could emerge from a renewed split in the Government of National Accord (see previous article). Considering the future names of potential factions that would result from a new split […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (3) Egypt Intervenes on the Nationalist Side

Recently, announcements have been made regarding the acceptance of a UN-facilitated peace agreement with a framework to form a Government of National Accord (UN News Centre, January 2, 2016). However, only 88 lawmakers from the rival governments were in attendance at the signing, while the Deputy Speaker of the GNC stated on January 2nd that the GNC rejects the agreement, and the attending lawmakers represented “only themselves” – signifying difficulties and confusion regarding a fully-endorsed agreement by both sides (Abbas, Albawaba News, January 2, 2016; DePetris, Quartz, January 1, 2016). Furthermore, although the peace deal is supported by the international community and the UN has promised to support Libya in its transition (Ibid; Narayan and Robertson, CNN, December 17, 2015), […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Scenario 2 (2) – The Joint Arab Force Intervenes

This article is the second of our series focusing on scenarios depicting interventions in the Libyan war. As detailed previously we have reached the following stage in our sub-scenarios: External actors have decided to militarily intervene in Libya by taking a side with either the GNC or COR (Sc 2.1.1). The League of Arab States (LAS) meets to decide about an intervention in Libya and to form the related Joint Arab Force. Considering the position of each country, the debates are very animated to say the least (Sc 2.1.1.1). As a result, the Arab League internally fragments over the decision to intervene. Nonetheless a Joint Arab Force is formed involving three countries, Egypt, the UAE, and Jordan. It is about […]

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

EN
FR EN