“Made in China 2025” in Trouble? – Signal

On 14 July 2019, new Chinese statistics revealed that growth in China was lowering. Media sensationally reported the news. For example, The New York Times titled “China’s Economic Growth Hits 27-Year Low as Trade War Stings” (Keith Bradsher). Meanwhile what is happening in the area of new technologies? Are other indicators available? Indeed, the famous […]

Cybersécurité, 10ème anniversaire de l'ANSSI et l'Agora 41

Image crédit: Jean-Dominique Lavoix-Carli utilise une photo de Getfunky CC BY 2.0 et un vecteur de fond de freepik Le 4 juin 2019, l'ANSSI, l'Agence française de la cybersécurité, a célébré son 10e anniversaire avec un cyberfestival. L'Agora 41 prend forme L'Agora 41 (voir sa page dédiée sur le site de l'ANSSI) faisait partie intégrante de la […]

Inondations dans le Midwest, guerre commerciale et pandémie de grippe porcine: la grande tempête agricole et alimentaire est arrivée!

En mai 2019, pour la deuxième fois en trois mois, le centre des États-Unis est frappé par des inondations record. Ces inondations touchent l'Oklahoma, l'Arkansas, le Missouri, l'Illinois, le Nebraska et l'Iowa (Susannah Cullinane, Hollie Silvermane, Sheena Jones, «Le centre des États-Unis après une semaine de tempête», CNN, 26 mai 2019). À Van Buren, en Arkansas, le niveau de la rivière Arkansas a atteint […]

Comment gagner une guerre avec l'intelligence artificielle et peu de victimes

Les États-Unis et la Chine sont aux prises avec une lutte de plus en plus acharnée pour obtenir le statut de superpuissance. Nombreux ont été ceux qui ont perçu cette confrontation au début d’une guerre commerciale. Cependant, la «saga» de ZTE indiquait déjà que la question était plus vaste et impliquait une bataille pour la suprématie sur les technologies du 21ème siècle et, parallèlement, pour le pouvoir international (voir […]

Vers une guerre entre les États-Unis et la Chine? (1) La nouvelle guerre froide et la Belt and Road Initiative Chinoise dans l'Arctique

Cet article explore la manière dont le réchauffement de l'Arctique transforme cette région en une nouvelle frontière d'un nouveau moteur de la confrontation entre les États-Unis et la Chine.

★ Capteur et actionneur (4): l'intelligence artificielle, la longue marche vers les robots avancés et la géopolitique

Le directeur de la robotique d'Amazon a déclaré en avril 2019 qu'il faudrait "au moins 10 ans" avant que les entrepôts ne soient complètement automatisés (Rachel England, Endgadget, 2 mai 2019). Parallèlement, comme nous le détaillons ci-dessous, la production chinoise de robots industriels est en baisse constante de septembre 2018 (-16,4%) à mars 2019 (-14%) et d'avril 201 -7,3% (Chine […]

Agriculture intelligente, pouvoir international et intérêt national

L'agriculture intelligente, la combinaison de l'agriculture, de l'intelligence artificielle (IA) et de l'Internet des objets (IoT), aidera à relever les différents défis de la sécurité alimentaire et à inaugurer la réalité d'un monde nouveau. Cela changera également ce que signifie la sécurité alimentaire internationale. Nous présentons ici certaines des caractéristiques de la nouvelle «sécurité alimentaire intelligente internationale». […]

★ Capteur et actionneur pour IA (3) - Intelligence artificielle, Internet des objets et l'avenir de l'agriculture: Une sécurité de l'agriculture intelligente? (2)

L’une des priorités actuelles en matière d’intelligence artificielle est l’éthique. Par exemple, le 8 avril 2019, la Commission européenne a publié son document Communication Building Trust sur l'intelligence artificielle centrée sur l'homme. Malgré les échecs, Google tente également de mettre en place un comité d'éthique de l'IA (Kelsey Piper, «Exclusif: Google annule le comité d'éthique de l'IA en réponse à un tollé», […]

★ Capteur et actionneur pour IA (2) - Intelligence artificielle, Internet des objets et l'avenir de l'agriculture: Une sécurité de l'agriculture intelligente? (1)

Cet article explore la manière dont l'intelligence artificielle (IA) est insérée dans son environnement via l'Internet des objets dans un domaine particulier, l'agriculture. En conséquence, une «agriculture intelligente», une toute nouvelle façon de produire des aliments, est née. Nous examinons la façon dont divers acteurs incluent l'IA dans l'agriculture et envisagent et développent ainsi l'avenir […]

L'Arabie Saoudite et la Belt and Road chinoise: la grande convergence

En février 2019, lors du forum économique entre l'Arabie saoudite et la Chine, les deux pays ont signé des accords de plus de 28 milliards de dollars («Le Forum de l'investissement saoudien et chinois a signé 35 accords lors de la visite du prince héritier à Beijing», Ashark Al Awsat, 22 février 2019). . Ces transactions gigantesques font partie de la relation croissante entre la Chine et la Chine. Ils sont la continuation économique et politique de […]

FR
EN FR

★ The Chinese BATX in the Race to Quantum Computing: from Research to Venture Capital through Drugs and Fintech

This article focuses on the participation of the Chinese Web and IT giants in the race to quantum information science (QIS) and technologies.

We look at Alibaba, Baidu, Tencent, and Huawei involvement in QIS. Their quantum activity ranges from setting up research and development labs and centres to launching quantum cloud platforms. It goes from quantum computing research to emphasis on users’ applications. We highlight investments when available. Alternatively, we estimate activity, when possible, through other means. […]

“Made in China 2025” in Trouble? – Signal

On 14 July 2019, new Chinese statistics revealed that growth in China was lowering. Media sensationally reported the news. For example, The New York Times titled “China’s Economic Growth Hits 27-Year Low as Trade War Stings” (Keith Bradsher). Meanwhile what is happening in the area of new technologies? Are other indicators available? Indeed, the famous […]

Cybersecurity, ANSSI 10th Anniversary and the Agora 41

Credit Image: Jean-Dominique Lavoix-Carli using a photo by Getfunky CC BY 2.0 and background vector by freepik On 4 June 2019, the French National Cybersecurity Agency, the ANSSI, celebrated its 10th Anniversary with a Cyberfestival. The Agora 41 is taking shape The Agora 41 (see its dedicated page on the ANSSI website) was fully part of the […]

The Midwest Floods, the Trade War and the Swine Flu Pandemic: The Agricultural and Food Super Storm is Here!

In May 2019, for the second time in three months, Central U.S. is hammered by record-breaking floods. Those floods are impacting Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Nebraska and Iowa (Susannah Cullinane, Hollie Silvermane, Sheena Jones, “Central US reels from week of deadly weather”, CNN, May 26, 2019). In Van Buren, Arkansas, the Arkansas River level reached […]

How to Win a War with Artificial Intelligence and Few Casualties

The U.S. and China are locked in an increasingly heated struggle for superpower status. Many perceived this confrontation initially only through the lenses of a trade war. However, the ZTE “saga” already indicated the issue was broader and involved a battle for supremacy over 21st century technologies and, relatedly, for international power (see When AI […]

Towards a US-China War ? (1) The New Cold War and China’s Belt and Road Initiative Go to the (Warming) Arctic

This article explores the way the warming of the Arctic transforms this region into the new frontier of a new driver of the confrontation between the US and China… Read More

★ Sensor and Actuator (4): Artificial Intelligence, the Long March towards Advanced Robots and Geopolitics

Amazon’s director of robotics stated in April 2019 that it would be “at least 10 years” before warehouses become fully automated (Rachel England, Endgadget, 2 May 2019). Meanwhile, as we detail below, the Chinese production of industrial robots has been falling continuously since September 2018 (-16.4%) to March 2019 (-14%) and April 2019 -7.3% (China […]

Smart Agriculture, International Power and National Interest

Smart farming, the combination of agriculture, artificial intelligence (AI) and the internet of things (IoT), will help tackle the various challenges of food security, and usher the happenstance of a new world. It will also change what international food security means. We present here some of the features of the new “international smart food security”. […]

★ Sensor and Actuator for AI (3) – Artificial Intelligence, the Internet of Things and the Future of Agriculture: Smart Agriculture Security? (2)

One of the current focuses regarding Artificial Intelligence is on ethics. For example, on 8 April 2019 the European Commission published its Communication Building Trust in Human-Centric Artificial Intelligence. Google, despite set backs, also tries to implement an AI ethics board (Kelsey Piper, “Exclusive: Google cancels AI ethics board in response to outcry“, Vox, 4 […]

★ Sensor and Actuator for AI (2) – Artificial Intelligence, the Internet of Things and the Future of Agriculture: Smart Agriculture Security? (1)

This article explores the way artificial intelligence (AI) is inserted within its environment through the Internet of Things in a particular domain, agriculture. As a result, “smart agriculture”, a whole new way to produce food, is born. We look at the way various actors include AI in farming and thus envision and develop the future […]

EN
FR EN