Certains des articles de cette catégorie sont en libre accès, vous pouvez les lire librement. Certains articles sont premium: si vous êtes membre, s'il vous plaît s'identifier. Devenir un membre.

Quantique, IA et géopolitique (3): Cartographie de la course à l'informatique quantique

Le but de cet article est de définir un cadre permettant de comprendre la Race to Quantum, de présenter un outil adéquat pour gérer les multiples caractéristiques de cette course, à savoir la cartographie dynamique - pour les graphistes dynamiques de mathématiciens - et pour découvrir certaines parties de la dynamique. carte ainsi réalisée comme exemple de ce qui se passe et de ce qui peut être fait pour comprendre. La cartographie présentée ici inclut progressivement l'UE et les Pays-Bas, l'Allemagne, les États-Unis et la Chine, puis des acteurs privés, IBM et Vision Fund. Lire la suite…

Le pouvoir des cartes

Les cartes sont à la fois des outils d’analyse indispensables et des visuels essentiels pour la livraison de produits de prévision et d’alerte. Ils constituent un type très puissant de forme de livraison, car ils changent à la fois le monde et l’esprit. L'importance cruciale des cartes et du processus de cartographie a notamment été montrée, dans le cas de la naissance des nations et du nationalisme, par deux livres remarquables: Imagined Communities de Benedict Anderson et Siam Mapped: une histoire du géo-corps de une nation par Winichakul Thongchai. S'appuyant sur les découvertes de ces œuvres maîtresses, ainsi que sur ma propre recherche (doctorat), cet article explique le pouvoir des cartes et décrit ensuite les évolutions, les exemples et les possibilités contemporains. Pourquoi les cartes sont-elles des instruments de pouvoir spéciaux? […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Cartes de sécurité de l'eau

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection de cartes relatives à la sécurité mondiale de l'eau, utiles tant pour l'analyse que pour la livraison des produits. Les cartes sont à la fois des outils d’analyse et des visuels essentiels pour la livraison de nos produits de prévision et d’avertissement. Ils constituent une catégorie de formulaires de livraison, qui peuvent en outre être combinés avec d'autres catégories pour répondre au mieux à nos besoins. Les cartes sous droits qui ne permettent pas une utilisation libre et équitable (CC) sont classées au bas de la publication. National Intelligence Council (US), ODNI - 2012: Carte globale de la sécurité de l'eau en carte jointe à la sécurité mondiale de l'eau de 2012, une carte d'évaluation de la communauté du renseignement (FAO) AQUASTAT est le système mondial d'information de la FAO sur l'eau et l'agriculture, développé par la […] ]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Pearltrees: un outil bibliographique visuel multifonction

Lors de la préparation de la bibliographie sur la prospective en matière de sécurité énergétique, je me demandais s’il serait utile d’appliquer également une approche attrayante visuellement aux bibliographies, qui seraient ensuite conceptualisées en tant que produit. Comme d'habitude, il n'y a pas de réponse simple à cette question, et si la bibliographie classique doit probablement être conservée pendant un certain temps, Pearltrees apparaît également comme un outil bibliographique parfait. Bibliographie classique inévitable Étant donné que la livraison du produit doit prendre en compte à la fois le support matériel du produit et le destinataire ou le client, la méthode traditionnelle de rédaction d'une bibliographie devra probablement être conservée pendant un certain temps. En effet, pour tout ce qui utilise le papier et l’imprimé comme support, la bibliographie alphabétique habituelle est préférable. Il est […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

2013 - 2018 EVT - Événements tragiques

Des événements tragiques frappent Everstate. Nous assistons à des tornades et à la sécheresse, à la guerre au Moyen-Orient et même à un accident industriel majeur, alors qu'un nouvel épisode de crise financière commence. Ce sont des exemples des diverses conditions qui président au destin d'Everstate, en considérant ce qui a été fait ou non, aux niveaux mondial, régional et intérieur d'Everstate.

Le même ensemble d’événements doit être utilisé pour tester chaque scénario. La logique du scénario viendra toutefois en premier, en supposant qu’elle ait un impact sur la plausibilité de l’événement. Dans ce cas, ….

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Images pour illustrer la science de la complexité et la prévision stratégique et l'avertissement

Des images liées à la science de la complexité m'ont paru utiles pour la préparation d'une présentation sur la prospective stratégique, l'avertissement et la complexité.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Images, symboles et produits en vedette: l'exemple des Chroniques d'Everstate

(mise à jour le 17 avril 2012) Lorsqu'une image est présentée et vise à représenter la totalité d'un produit prévisionnel ou anticipatif, ou une grande partie de celui-ci, elle doit capturer l'essentiel du produit. Les symboles et le symbolisme sont alors cruciaux pour transmettre des messages. Cette importance des symboles doit de toute façon être prise en compte pour toute utilisation d’image (ainsi que lors de l’élaboration d’un scénario, par exemple lors du choix de noms). Ceci sera illustré ici avec les Chroniques d'Everstate. L’image vise à capturer symboliquement les caractéristiques de l’État-nation moderne (début du XXIe siècle): c’est bien sûr un héritier de Hobbes Leviathan. Cependant, comparé à l'image originale, la tête du souverain n'est pas affichée […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Outils visuels et conception de produits de prospective

Delivery to clients of strategic foresight and warning (SF&W) or futures related products is, as we saw, a crucial part of the overall SF&W process. Without delivery, there is neither warning nor foresight, however accurate and brilliant the underlying analyses. As crucial, although very difficult to achieve, is the fact that clients or customers must pay heed to the foresight product or to the warning. Initially, according to the intelligence literature, notably on surprise, or to exchanges with practitioners, this part of the process is seen as so difficult indeed that it is not considered as being the responsibility of the foresight and warning – or risk – analyst, officer or of the scientist if we include science in SF&W, given the predictive […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Une expérience avec des nuages infomous

Une expérience avec Infomous Clouds Dans le cadre de nos expériences avec de nouveaux outils pour la numérisation de l’horizon et la livraison aux clients, à commencer par Paper.li qui a conduit à la création de Weekly, voici une manière cool d’utiliser les nuages avec Infomous (utilisé, par exemple, par The Economist). The Red (team) Cloud d'analyse: Cloud Twitter (@HLavoix):

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

Some of the articles in this category are open access, you can read them freely. Some articles are premium: if you are a member, please log in. Become a member.

Quantum, AI, and Geopolitics (3): Mapping The Race for Quantum Computing

The purpose of this article is to define a framework within which the Race to Quantum can be understood, to present an adequate tool to handle the multiple characteristics of this race, namely dynamic mapping – for mathematicians dynamic graphs – and to uncover parts of the dynamic map thus achieved as example of what is happening and what can be done to understand. The mapping presented here progressively includes the EU and the Netherlands, Germany, the U.S., China, then, moving to private actors, IBM and Vision Fund. read more…

The Power of Maps

Maps are both necessary tools for analysis and crucial delivery visuals for foresight and warning products. They constitute a very powerful type of delivery form, as they change both the world and the mind. The pivotal importance of maps and of the process of mapping has notably been shown, in the case of the birth of nations and of nationalism, by two remarkable books: Imagined Communities by Benedict Anderson and Siam Mapped: A History of the Geo-Body of a Nation by Winichakul Thongchai. Building upon the findings of those master-works, as well as on my own (PhD) research, this post explains the power of maps and then outlines contemporary evolutions, examples and possibilities. Why are maps special instruments of power?… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Water Security Maps

You will find below a selection of maps related to global water security, which are useful for both analysis and delivery of products. Maps are both necessary tools for analysis and crucial delivery visuals for our foresight and warning products. They constitute a category of delivery form, which can, furthermore, be combined with other categories to suit at best our needs. The maps under copyrights that do not allow fair free use (C.C.) are filed at the bottom of the post. National Intelligence Council (US), ODNI – 2012: Global Water Security Map Map attached to the 2012 Global Water Security, an Intelligence Community Assessment Aquastat (FAO) maps AQUASTAT is FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture, developed by the Land… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Pearltrees: a multifunction visual bibliographic tool

While preparing the bibliography on energy security foresight, I was wondering if it would be useful to also apply a visually appealing approach to bibliographies, which would then be conceptualized as a product. As usual, there is no simple answer to this question, and if the classical bibliography will most probably have to be kept for a while, Pearltrees also appears as a perfect bibliographic tool. Inevitable classical bibliography Because delivery of product must consider both the product’s material support and the recipient or customer, then the traditional way to write a bibliography will probably have to be kept for some time. Indeed, for anything that uses paper and print as support, the usual, alphabetical bibliography is best. It is… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

2013 – 2018 EVT – Tragic events

Tragic events strike Everstate. We witness tornadoes and drought, war in the Middle East and even a major industrial accident, while a new episode of financial crisis starts. These are instances of the various conditions presiding to Everstate’s destiny, considering what has been done, or not, globally, regionally and within Everstate.

The same set of events should be used to stress test each scenario. The logic of the scenario will however comes first, assuming it impacts the plausibility of the event. In that case, ….

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Images to illustrate Complexity Science & Strategic Foresight and Warning

Images related to complexity science I found useful in putting together a presentation dealing with Strategic Foresight and Warning and Complexity

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Featured Images, Symbols & Foresight Product: the Example of The Chronicles of Everstate

(updated 17 April 2012) When an image is featured and is meant to represent the totality of a foresight or anticipatory product, or a large section of it, it must capture the gist of the product. Symbols and symbolism are then crucial to transmit messages. This importance of symbols should anyway be considered for any use of image (as well as when developing a scenario narrative, for example when choosing names). This will be exemplified here with the Chronicles of Everstate. The image aims at capturing symbolically the features of the contemporary (early 21st century) modern nation-state: It, of course, is an heir to Hobbes Leviathan. However, compared with the original image, the head of the sovereign is not displayed… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Visual Tools and Design for Foresight Products

Delivery to clients of strategic foresight and warning (SF&W) or futures related products is, as we saw, a crucial part of the overall SF&W process. Without delivery, there is neither warning nor foresight, however accurate and brilliant the underlying analyses. As crucial, although very difficult to achieve, is the fact that clients or customers must pay heed to the foresight product or to the warning. Initially, according to the intelligence literature, notably on surprise, or to exchanges with practitioners, this part of the process is seen as so difficult indeed that it is not considered as being the responsibility of the foresight and warning – or risk – analyst, officer or of the scientist if we include science in SF&W, given the predictive… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

An Experiment with Infomous Clouds

An Experiment with Infomous Clouds In the framework of our experiments with new tools for both horizon scanning and delivery to clients, started with Paper.li that led to the creation of the Weekly, here is a cool way to use clouds with Infomous (used, for example, by The Economist). The Red (team) Analysis cloud:   Twitter (@HLavoix) cloud:

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.