“Made in China 2025” in Trouble? – Signal

On 14 July 2019, new Chinese statistics revealed that growth in China was lowering. Media sensationally reported the news. For example, The New York Times titled “China’s Economic Growth Hits 27-Year Low as Trade War Stings” (Keith Bradsher). Meanwhile what is happening in the area of new technologies? Are other indicators available? Indeed, the famous […]

Inondations dans le Midwest, guerre commerciale et pandémie de grippe porcine: la grande tempête agricole et alimentaire est arrivée!

En mai 2019, pour la deuxième fois en trois mois, le centre des États-Unis est frappé par des inondations record. Ces inondations touchent l'Oklahoma, l'Arkansas, le Missouri, l'Illinois, le Nebraska et l'Iowa (Susannah Cullinane, Hollie Silvermane, Sheena Jones, «Le centre des États-Unis après une semaine de tempête», CNN, 26 mai 2019). À Van Buren, en Arkansas, le niveau de la rivière Arkansas a atteint […]

Vers une guerre entre les États-Unis et la Chine? (1) La nouvelle guerre froide et la Belt and Road Initiative Chinoise dans l'Arctique

Cet article explore la manière dont le réchauffement de l'Arctique transforme cette région en une nouvelle frontière d'un nouveau moteur de la confrontation entre les États-Unis et la Chine.

Cyclone bombe sur le Midwest: Inondations, guerre commerciale et super tempête agricole à venir

Entre le 14 et le 20 mars 2019, un «cyclone à la bombe» historiquement puissant, associé à la fonte des neiges, a dévasté le Colorado et le centre des États-Unis, en particulier le «farmbelt» du Midwest de l'Iowa et du Nebraska, du Dakota du Sud et du Kansas. En conséquence, il a provoqué d’immenses inondations, qui ont détruit plus d’un million d’acres (405 000 hectares). Ces inondations ont des conséquences directes immédiates, car […]

Agriculture intelligente, pouvoir international et intérêt national

L'agriculture intelligente, la combinaison de l'agriculture, de l'intelligence artificielle (IA) et de l'Internet des objets (IoT), aidera à relever les différents défis de la sécurité alimentaire et à inaugurer la réalité d'un monde nouveau. Cela changera également ce que signifie la sécurité alimentaire internationale. Nous présentons ici certaines des caractéristiques de la nouvelle «sécurité alimentaire intelligente internationale». […]

★ Capteur et actionneur pour IA (3) - Intelligence artificielle, Internet des objets et l'avenir de l'agriculture: Une sécurité de l'agriculture intelligente? (2)

L’une des priorités actuelles en matière d’intelligence artificielle est l’éthique. Par exemple, le 8 avril 2019, la Commission européenne a publié son document Communication Building Trust sur l'intelligence artificielle centrée sur l'homme. Malgré les échecs, Google tente également de mettre en place un comité d'éthique de l'IA (Kelsey Piper, «Exclusif: Google annule le comité d'éthique de l'IA en réponse à un tollé», […]

★ Capteur et actionneur pour IA (2) - Intelligence artificielle, Internet des objets et l'avenir de l'agriculture: Une sécurité de l'agriculture intelligente? (1)

Cet article explore la manière dont l'intelligence artificielle (IA) est insérée dans son environnement via l'Internet des objets dans un domaine particulier, l'agriculture. En conséquence, une «agriculture intelligente», une toute nouvelle façon de produire des aliments, est née. Nous examinons la façon dont divers acteurs incluent l'IA dans l'agriculture et envisagent et développent ainsi l'avenir […]

L'Arabie Saoudite et la Belt and Road chinoise: la grande convergence

En février 2019, lors du forum économique entre l'Arabie saoudite et la Chine, les deux pays ont signé des accords de plus de 28 milliards de dollars («Le Forum de l'investissement saoudien et chinois a signé 35 accords lors de la visite du prince héritier à Beijing», Ashark Al Awsat, 22 février 2019). . Ces transactions gigantesques font partie de la relation croissante entre la Chine et la Chine. Ils sont la continuation économique et politique de […]

Changement climatique: vivrons-nous ou mourrons-nous sur notre planète en mutation?

Une cavité de 1 000 pieds (1 600 mètres), et même les deux tiers de Manhattan, a été trouvée à l'intérieur du glacier Thwaites (Sarah Sloat, Antarctic Globe, «Une énorme cavité à l'intérieur d'un glacier antarctique abrite une dangereuse menace», Inverse Daily, 1er février, 2019). Il a été créé en trois ans par réchauffement et fusion à l'intérieur. Ceci montre […]

Stabiliser ou intensifier le mouvement du gilet jaune français?

Cet article cherche à évaluer l'avenir du mouvement de protestation Yellow Vest et de la situation en France. Il examine la manière dont les actions des autorités politiques peuvent stabiliser un mouvement de protestation. Ensuite, il applique cette compréhension au mouvement français. En effet, si les manifestations en France se poursuivent, samedi 26 janvier 2019 aura […]

FR
EN FR

Bomb Cyclone on the Midwest: Floods, the Trade War and the Coming Agricultural Super Storm

Between 14 and 20 March 2019, a historically powerful “bomb cyclone”, combined with snowmelt devastated Colorado and the Central United States, especially the Midwest “farmbelt” of Iowa and Nebraska, South Dakota and Kansas. Consequently, it triggered immense floods, which wrecked more than a million of acres (405000 hectares). These floods have immediate direct consequences, because… Read More

Smart Agriculture, International Power and National Interest

Smart farming, the combination of agriculture, artificial intelligence (AI) and the internet of things (IoT), will help tackle the various challenges of food security, and usher the happenstance of a new world. It will also change what international food security means. We present here some of the features of the new “international smart food security”…. Read More

Sensor and Actuator for AI (3) – Artificial Intelligence, the Internet of Things and the Future of Agriculture: Smart Agriculture Security? (2)

One of the current focuses regarding Artificial Intelligence is on ethics. For example, on 8 April 2019 the European Commission published its Communication Building Trust in Human-Centric Artificial Intelligence. Google, despite set backs, also tries to implement an AI ethics board (Kelsey Piper, “Exclusive: Google cancels AI ethics board in response to outcry“, Vox, 4… Read More

Sensor and Actuator for AI (2) – Artificial Intelligence, the Internet of Things and the Future of Agriculture: Smart Agriculture Security? (1)

This article explores the way artificial intelligence (AI) is inserted within its environment through the Internet of Things in a particular domain, agriculture. As a result, “smart agriculture”, a whole new way to produce food, is born. We look at the way various actors include AI in farming and thus envision and develop the future… Read More

Saudi Arabia and the Chinese Belt and Road: the Great Convergence

In February 2019, during the Saudi Arabia-China economic forum, the two countries signed for more than 28 billion dollars deals (“Saudi-Chinese Investment Forum Signs 35 Deals During Crown Prince’s Beijing Visit”, Ashark Al Awsat, 22 February, 2019). These gigantic deals are part of the growing Saudi-China relationship. They are the economic and political continuation of… Read More

Climate change: Shall we live or die on our changing planet ?

A cavity 1000 feet tall (1600 metres), and as large as two thirds of Manhattan has been found inside the Antarctic Thwaites glacier (Sarah Sloat, “An Enormous Cavity Inside an Antarctic Glacier Harbors a Dangerous Threat », Inverse Daily, February 1, 2019). It has been created in three year by inside warming and melting. This shows… Read More

Stabilising Or Escalating the French Yellow Vest Movement?

This article seeks to assess the future of the Yellow Vest protest movement and of the situation in France. It looks at the way the actions of political authorities can stabilise a protest movement. Then it applies this understanding to the French movement. Indeed, if protests in France continue, Saturday 26 January 2019 would have… Read More

Understanding (or not) the Nature of Climate Change as a Planetary Threat

On 3 December 2018, i.e. two days before the opening of the 2018 UN Climate Change Conference – its 24th meeting (COP 24), in Katowice, at the very heart of Poland coal country, Jair Bolsonaro, the new president of Brazil, announced that his country would not organize the following round of negotiations, i.e the COP… Read More

Understanding the French Yellow Vest Movement and its Crescendo

France faces an escalating protest movement. This movement is called the “Yellow Vests” or “Yellow Vest”. The French government appears to be always late in the way it answers it; political analysts appear to be surprised by what is happening and to struggle to understand. Meanwhile, violence increases. Part 2 of the article: Stabilising Or… Read More