Certains des articles de cette catégorie sont en libre accès, vous pouvez les lire librement. Certains articles sont premium: si vous êtes membre, s'il vous plaît s'identifier. Devenir un membre.

Transmutation d'énergie au Moyen-Orient: Egypte et Israël

Alors que le changement climatique frappe le Moyen-Orient et que la Syrie et l'Irak sont en guerre (Valantin, «Le cauchemar climatique au Moyen-Orient», The Red Team Analysis Society, 14 septembre 2015), l'Égypte et Israël traversent révolution énergétique. En effet, depuis 2011, Israël a découvert deux gisements offshore de gaz naturel géants (Valantin, «Israël, le gaz naturel et l'électricité au Moyen-Orient», The Red Team Analysis Society, 27 avril 2015), tandis qu'en août 2015, le La société italienne ENI a découvert un gigantesque gisement naturel offshore dans la zone économique exclusive de l'Égypte (Anthony Dipaola, «ENI découvre d'énormes gisements de gaz en Méditerranée», Bloomberg Business, 30 août 2015). En d'autres termes, ces deux pays se transforment en une nouvelle, […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Israël, gaz naturel et énergie au Moyen-Orient

Benyamin Netanyahu, le Premier ministre israélien, plaisante sur le fait que Moïse a conduit son peuple pendant quarante ans dans le désert au seul endroit du Moyen-Orient sans pétrole (Marin Katusa, The Colder War, 2014). Et, en effet, depuis les soixante premières années de son existence, le manque de ressources énergétiques a été une difficulté majeure pour Israël. Cependant, un profond changement semble être en cours depuis que deux gisements de gaz naturel géants en mer ont été découverts dans la zone économique exclusive israélienne en 2011. Les gisements Tamar et Leviathan contiennent respectivement 10 et 19 000 milliards de pieds cubes de gaz. des réserves estimées, ce qui pourrait assurer des décennies de consommation intérieure ainsi que […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Inondation de pétrole (2) - Le pétrole et la politique dans un monde multipolaire (réel)

L'inondation mondiale de pétrole augmente rapidement. Comme nous l'avons vu dans «Inondations de pétrole (1): le royaume est de retour», les décisions prises par les membres de l'OPEP et la Russie de ne pas réduire la production de pétrole, alors que l'Arabie saoudite fait baisser les prix, relèvent bien davantage de la politique et des stratégies énergétiques l'économie et la «main invisible» de la logique de «l'offre et la demande». Nous allons maintenant nous concentrer sur ce que l'évolution du marché pétrolier actuel révèle à propos de la géopolitique actuelle et future. Depuis la fin novembre, en particulier depuis la réunion de l'OPEP du 27 novembre, les prix ont continué à baisser, tandis que les principaux producteurs, notamment l'Arabie saoudite, la Russie, l'Iran et les entreprises privées américaines ont tous décidé, pour des raisons qui leur sont propres. , Maintenir […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Inondation d'huile (1)? Le royaume est de retour

Depuis juillet 2014, les prix du pétrole sont en baisse, tandis que les membres de l'OPEP ont décidé de maintenir leurs niveaux de production actuels (OPEP, fin de la 166ème réunion). Il semble que le royaume saoudien joue un rôle essentiel dans cette opération. De nombreux articles et commentaires portent sur les conséquences économiques et financières de cette situation et tentent de prévoir la réaction des économies nationale et mondiale. Le problème avec ce type de questions est qu’ils oublient que le pétrole n’est pas seulement une marchandise et le support d’activités financières gigantesques (William Engdahl, Un siècle de guerre, La politique pétrolière anglo-américaine et le nouvel ordre mondial, 2004). Avant tout, le pétrole est un outil extrêmement puissant du pouvoir politique (Michael Levi, «Why […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 182 - Les États-Unis menacés?

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Nous présentons ci-dessous certaines des caractéristiques les plus intéressantes ou les plus pertinentes pour chaque section. Monde (questions relatives à la guerre, à la sécurité internationale et nationale) - Outre les événements survenus dans la guerre entre États islamiques et sur le front plus large du Jihad, les tensions persistantes entre l'OTAN et la Russie, ainsi que les incertitudes liées à la situation en Ukraine, les points saillants de cette semaine C'est potentiellement combien les Etats-Unis et leur suprématie sont menacés et comment ils pourraient riposter ou non. Il est intéressant de noter que cette perception de menaces multiples pour les États-Unis n’apparaît que si l’on considère ensemble différentes sections, à savoir le monde (bien sûr), la technologie et l’armement, l’énergie et l’économie. Nous avons donc ensemble la baisse des prix du pétrole […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Énergie, climat et paradoxe militaire

Un paradoxe puissant est au cœur de la ruée mondiale actuelle sur le pétrole et le gaz (Michael Klare, La course pour ce qui reste, 2012). D'une part, la demande mondiale en énergie nécessite de trouver et d'exploiter des gisements de pétrole et de gaz, tout en en recherchant de nouveaux, même dans des situations environnementales et politiques extrêmes, comme dans l'Arctique ou le delta du Niger (Al Jazeera, «Who stlying Nigerian oil? “, 13 sept. 2014). D'autre part, 97% des climatologues ont établi un consensus pour établir que les utilisations actuelles du pétrole et du gaz modifient le climat de la Terre (GIEC, cinquième rapport, 2014) à une vitesse et à une vitesse telles que les conditions de vie fondamentales pourraient être modifiées. l'ensemble de l'humain […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

L'Arctique russe, énergie et grand changement de pouvoir

Un changement de pouvoir mondial majeur se produit dans l'Arctique. Cela est dû aux nouvelles découvertes massives de pétrole et de gaz, combinées aux effets du changement climatique. En effet, le 28 septembre 2014, Igor Sechin, PDG de Rosneft, le géant pétrolier russe, a annoncé la découverte d'un gisement pétrolifère géant dans la mer de Kara, au nord de la Sibérie (Zero Hedge, «La Russie découvre l'immense gisement de pétrole arctique plus grande que le golfe du Mexique », 28 septembre 2014). Selon les premiers commentaires, cette structure sous-marine appelée Universitetskaya pourrait potentiellement contenir des réserves de pétrole et de gaz égales ou supérieures au golfe du Mexique. Comme l'a déclaré Igor Sechin, cité par Bloomberg (Arkhipov, Chierman et Chilcote), "la Russie dit que le puits Arctic est foré avec Exxon Mobil […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 152 - Oubli de la sécurité alimentaire?

Editorial - Oublier la sécurité alimentaire? Alors que la tension tendue entre les Etats-Unis, l'UE et les Etats membres européens d'une part et la Russie d'autre part ne faiblit pas et ne s'étend pas dans l'espace, alors que la plupart se concentrent sur la composante des combustibles fossiles de la crise mondiale ukrainienne, un élément crucial De cette énergie vitale pour les sociétés humaines, la nourriture tend à être oubliée (pour la nourriture en tant qu’énergie, voir par exemple Thomas Homer Dixon, The Upside of Down, 2008). L'article de Chris Martenson, intitulé «L'augmentation des coûts liés aux ressources et l'augmentation des risques d'agitation globale» (via Peak Peakland Prosperity sur Zerohedge), a toutefois été utilement rappelé à l'attention du public. Il est vrai que si vous vous dirigez vers la FAO pour surveiller la situation alimentaire mondiale, tout semble aller pour le moment. En outre, selon […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Egypte, changement climatique et guerre civile à ressources longues

Depuis que le «printemps arabe» est arrivé en Égypte en janvier 2011, la situation politique a évolué assez rapidement (Georges Corm, Le Proche-Orient éclaté, 2012). De nombreux observateurs considèrent le paysage politique égyptien comme un champ de bataille entre l'armée, les Frères musulmans et un nombre croissant de personnes désireuses de faire l'expérience de la démocratie, alors que la situation dans son ensemble est mise à mal par une situation économique très dégradée (Seumas Milne, The Revenge d'histoire, 2013). De plus, ces différents acteurs participent aux tensions politiques entre les pays arabes, notamment le Qatar et l'Arabie saoudite, et entre ces pays et les États-Unis (Corm, ibid). L’Égypte a une énorme importance politique au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et aux niveaux international et mondial. Depuis l'antiquité, ce très singulier […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Pattern - Températures mondiales plus élevées, impacts antérieurs et générosité des carburants de schiste

Nous devons probablement nous préparer à une augmentation de la température de 2 ° C et à son impact dur sur le monde relativement rapidement, car une augmentation de la température de 6 ° C - et plus - d'ici la fin du siècle est de plus en plus probable. En effet, les intérêts, les défis et les tensions actuels sont les plus susceptibles de favoriser la production et les politiques des carburants de schiste et d'avoir une incidence défavorable sur les «efforts écologiques». D'autres impacts écologiques néfastes sur les questions de sécurité mondiale telles que l'eau et la biodiversité peuvent être renforcés et doivent être surveillés. La mobilisation des citoyens sur ces questions peut évoluer à mesure que des compromis seront faits et que des impacts se feront sentir.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

Energy Security Analysis

Our Foresights and Insights
While climate change is hammering the Middle East, and as Syria and Iraq are engulfed in war (Valantin, “Climate nightmare in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, September 14, 2015), Egypt and Israel are going through a profound energy revolution. In effect, since 2011, Israel has discovered two giant natural gas off-shore deposits (Valantin, “Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, April 27, 2015) while in August 2015, the oil Italian company ENI has discovered a mammoth off-shore natural deposit in the Egyptian economic exclusive zone (Anthony Dipaola, “ENI discovers massive gas fields in the Mediterranean”, Bloomberg Business, August 30, 2015). In other terms, these two countries are transforming themselves into a new, … Continue reading Energy Transmutation in the Middle East: Egypt and Israel
This category can only be viewed by members. To view this category, sign up by purchasing Membership – Platinum / Yearly or Membership – Biannually (six-monthly).

While climate change is hammering the Middle East, and as Syria and Iraq are engulfed in war (Valantin, “Climate nightmare in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, September 14, 2015), Egypt and Israel are going through a profound energy revolution. In effect, since 2011, Israel has discovered two giant natural gas off-shore deposits (Valantin, “Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, April 27, 2015) while in August 2015, the oil Italian company ENI has discovered a mammoth off-shore natural deposit in the Egyptian economic exclusive zone (Anthony Dipaola, “ENI discovers massive gas fields in the Mediterranean”, Bloomberg Business, August 30, 2015). In other terms, these two countries are transforming themselves into a new, … Continue reading Energy Transmutation in the Middle East: Egypt and Israel

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

Benyamin Netanyahu, the Israeli Prime minister is known to joke about the fact that Moses led his people during forty years in the desert to the only place in the Middle East without oil (Marin Katusa, The Colder War, 2014). And, indeed, for the first sixty years of its existence, the lack of energy resources has been a major difficulty for Israel. However, a profound change seems to be underway, since two giant off-shore natural gas deposits have been discovered in the Israeli exclusive economic zone in 2011. The Tamar and the Leviathan fields hold respectively 10 and between 19 and 22 trillion cubic feet of gas of estimated reserves, which could ensure decades of domestic consumption as well as … Continue reading Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

The world oil flood is quickly rising. As we have seen in “Oil Flood (1): The Kingdom is Back”, the decisions taken by OPEC members and Russia not to curb oil production, while Saudi Arabia is forcing prices down, are much more about power politics and strategies than about economics and the “invisible hand” of the logic of “supply and demand”. We shall now focus on what the evolution of the current oil market reveals about current and future geopolitics. Since the end of November, especially since the 27 November OPEC meeting, prices have kept falling down, while the main producers, chiefly among them Saudi Arabia, Russia, Iran, and the private U.S. companies, have all decided, for reasons of their own, to maintain … Continue reading Oil Flood (2) – Oil and Politics in a (Real) Multipolar World

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

Since July 2014, oil prices have been falling, while OPEC members have decided to maintain their current levels of production (OPEC, 166th meeting concludes). It appears that the Saudi Kingdom plays an essential part in this operation. Numerous articles and commentaries are focused on the economic and financial consequences of this situation, and try to anticipate how national and global economies are going to react. The problem with this kind of questions is that they miss the fact that oil is not only a commodity and the support of gigantic financial activities (William Engdahl, A Century of war, Anglo-american oil politics and the new world order, 2004). Before all, oil is an extremely powerful tool of political power (Michael Levi, “Why … Continue reading Oil Flood (1)? The Kingdom is Back

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… We present below some of the most interesting or relevant features for each section. World (all matters related to war, international and national security) – Besides developments in the Islamic State War, and on the broader Jihadi front, continuing tensions between NATO and Russia, and related uncertainties for the situation in Ukraine, what stands out this week is, potentially, how much the U.S. and their supremacy are under threats and how they could fight back, or not. Interestingly, this perception of multiple threats to the U.S. only emerges if one considers various sections together, namely, world (of course), technology and armaments, energy and economy. We thus have together the decline of oil prices … Continue reading The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 182 – The U.S. under Threats?

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

A powerful paradox lies at the heart of the current oil and gas global rush (Michael Klare, The Race for what’s left, 2012). On the one hand, the energy global demand necessitates to find and exploit oil and gas deposits, while looking for new ones, even in extreme environmental and political situations, as in the Arctic or the Niger river Delta (Al Jazeera, “Who is stealing Nigerian oil?“, 13 Sept. 2014). On the other hand, 97% of climatologists have developed a consensus in establishing that the current uses of oil and gas are changing the Earth climate (IPCC, fifth report, 2014) at such a speed and rate that basic life conditions could be altered for the whole of the human … Continue reading Energy, Climate and Military Paradox

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

A major world power shift is happening in the Arctic. It is due to new massive oil and gas discoveries, combined with the effects of climate change. In effect, on 28 September 2014, Igor Sechin, CEO of Rosneft, the Russian mammoth oil company, announced the discovery of a giant oil field in the Kara Sea, north of Siberia (Zero Hedge, “Russia discovers massive Arctic oil field which maybe larger than the Gulf of Mexico“, 28 September, 2014). According to the first commentaries, this sub-sea structure called Universitetskaya, potentially, could contain reserves of oil and gas equal or superior to the Gulf of Mexico. As Igor Sechin declared, quoted by Bloomberg (Arkhipov, Chierman and Chilcote, “Russia says Arctic well drilled with Exxon Mobil … Continue reading The Russian Arctic, Energy and a Massive Power Shift

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

Editorial – Forgetting food security? While the tense stand-off between the U.S., the E.U. and European member states on the one hand and Russia on the other does not abate and spreads to space, while most focus on the fossil fuel component of the Ukrainian global crisis, one crucial element of this energy that is vital for human societies, food, tends to be forgotten (for food as energy, see e.g. Thomas Homer Dixon, The Upside of Down, 2008). It is, however, usefully re-called to out attention by Chris Martenson’s article “Rising Resource Costs Escalate Odds of Global Unrest” (via Peak Prosperity on Zerohedge). True enough, if you head to the FAO monitoring of the global food situation, so far things are looking all right. Furthermore, according … Continue reading The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 152 – Forgetting Food Security?

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

Since the “Arab spring” reached Egypt in January 2011, the political situation has evolved quite quickly (Georges Corm, Le Proche-Orient éclaté, 2012). Many observers analyse the Egyptian political landscape as a battlefield between the Army, the Muslim Brotherhood, and a growing number of people wanting to experience democracy, while the whole situation is being put under pressure by a very degraded economic situation (Seumas Milne, The Revenge of History, 2013). Moreover, those different actors are participating in the political tensions between Arab countries, especially Qatar and Saudi Arabia, and between these countries and the U.S. (Corm, ibid). Egypt has tremendous political importance in the Middle East, in Africa, and at the international and global level. Since the antiquity, this very singular … Continue reading Egypt, Climate Change and the Long Resource Civil Warfare

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.

We most probably need to get ready for a 2C temperature rise and its harsh impact on the world relatively rapidly as a temperature rise of 6C – and above – by the end of the century is increasingly probable. Indeed, interests and current challenges and tensions are most likely to favour shale fuels’ production and policies and adversely affect “green efforts”. Other ecological adverse impacts on global security issues such as water and biodiversity may be enhanced and must be monitored. Citizens’ mobilization on those issues may evolve as trade-offs will be done, and as impacts will be felt.

To access this article, you must become one of our members.
Methodological articles are also accessible through registration to our online course.

Log in if you are a member.