The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No 107, 4 juillet 2013

Recherche d'horizon sur la sécurité nationale - Numéro 107 - Égypte: un changement de jeu complet - Les événements qui se sont déroulés en Égypte ainsi que leurs réactions illustrent la fin potentielle d'une compréhension très superficielle de la démocratie depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. . Cette compréhension superficielle de la démocratie la limitait aux élections, donc aux politiciens, au mépris total de toutes les autres valeurs et idéaux inclus dans la démocratie et à la négation complète des liens complexes existant entre le régime (démocratie par exemple), l'État et le dirigeant (qui est actuellement "la nation"). Cette compréhension superficielle s’est allée de pair avec la modernisation…

Pattern - Vers la polarisation dans le monde occidental?

Le schéma qui a émergé au moins au début de la deuxième décennie du vingt et unième siècle est une polarisation croissante au sein de la société ou des sociétés occidentales. Dans cet article, nous avons identifié et analysé la tendance via le signal associé - les grèves du 14 novembre 2012. Nous avons évalué l'évolution vers la polarisation comme […]

Russia Today (RT): un nouveau média pour un monde polarisant?

Déclenchés par la crise financière et économique, les mouvements de protestation se sont étendus, notamment en Europe et aux États-Unis, qu'ils soient connus et démocrates (Los Indignados / Real Democracy Now, Occupy, etc.) ou non. Nous les appelons ici le "nouveau lien d'opposition". Malgré un grand nombre de licenciements et leurs difficultés internes (intrinsèques aux nouveaux mouvements), ils s'inquiètent maintenant […]

Un nouveau Nexus de l’opposition et son importance pour notre avenir: #OccupyWallStreet, Los Indignados, Anonymous et d’autres

Comment et pourquoi de nouveaux mouvements politiques émergent dans les systèmes politiques; un cadre pour comprendre les différents mouvements de protestation qui se déroulent dans le monde entier.

FR
EN FR

Pattern and Evolution

Our Foresights and Insights

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No107, 4 July 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security – No107 – Egypt: a complete game-changer – The events that have been taking place in Egypt as well as the reaction to them illustrate the potential end of a very shallow understanding of democracy since the end of World War II. This shallow understanding of democracy limited it to elections, thus to politician politics, with a complete disregard for all other values and ideals included within democracy and with a complete denial of the complex links existing between regime (democracy for example), state, and ruler (which is currently “the nation”). This shallow understanding went hand in hand with modernization…

Understanding how political authorities, in the past, managed to stabilize a protest movement sheds light on the political decisions taken in the present. This knowledge gives us tools and indicators to assess and monitor various contemporary situations and evaluate their future dynamics.

The current recurrence and spread of protest movements, their links, even if each mobilisation has its own dynamics and challenges, show that, in general, stabilisation is not at work. Could a case from the past help shed some light on what is happening or not happening?

The pattern that has been emerging over at least the beginning of the second decade of the twenty-first century is a rising polarization within Western society – or societies. In this article, we identified and analysed the trend through the related signal – the 14 November 2012 strikes. We evaluated the evolution toward polarization as likely. … Continue reading Pattern – Towards Polarization in the Western World?

Triggered by the financial and economic crisis, protests movements have spread, notably in Europe and in the U.S., be they famously named and democratic (Los Indignados/Real Democracy Now, Occupy, etc.) or not. We call them here the “new opposition nexus.” Despite much dismissal and their inner difficulties (intrinsic to new movements), they are now worrying enough, … Continue reading Russia Today (RT): a New Media for a Polarizing World?

A New Opposition Nexus and Why it Matters for our Future: #OccupyWallStreet, Los Indignados, Anonymous and Others

How and why new political movements emerge in political systems; a framework to understand the various protest movements happening throughout the world.