The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly - 18 avril 2019

Image crédit: ESO / José Francisco Salgado (josefrancisco.org) À l’aide du balayage de l’horizon, nous recueillons chaque semaine les signaux faibles - et moins faibles -. Celles-ci indiquent des problèmes nouveaux, émergents, en escalade ou en voie de stabilisation. En conséquence, ils indiquent comment les tendances ou la dynamique évoluent. En fait, cette semaine aurait plutôt tendance à manquer de concentration évidente. Alternativement, l'accumulation de signaux […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
27 avril 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… À mesure que la polarisation augmente, non seulement au niveau international, mais également au sein de nombreux pays, les signaux faibles ne sont pas seulement «directs» et décrivent des faits, mais aussi de plus en plus «indirects», c'est-à-dire sur la réalité indiquant plus sur le positionnement des acteurs, la tension (s) croissante et l'incertitude, que sur les faits. L'hebdomadaire aussi […]

Enquête sur la montée du populisme (2) - L'étiquetage du populisme et ses dangers

Cet article se concentre sur "la montée du populisme", la deuxième explication donnée à deux des grandes surprises politiques et géopolitiques récentes - à savoir le Brexit et l'élection de Donald Trump à la présidence des États-Unis, et une préoccupation majeure pour beaucoup concernant l'évolution future de L’Europe, l’UE et, plus largement, le paradigme libéral dans son apparence de mondialisation.

Auparavant, nous avions présenté la définition savante actuelle du populisme et suggéré qu’elle était moins représentative de la réalité que ce que l’on pensait au premier abord («Une définition parfaite?“). Ici, nous allons nous concentrer sur un aspect trop souvent oublié du «populisme», à savoir la façon dont le mot est utilisé pour dénigrer de manière déconcertante un mouvement ou un parti de protestation et le réinsérer dans un cadre plus vaste de science politique. Nous expliquerons comment cette pratique du «populisme-étiquetage» comporte en réalité trois dangers principaux, qui interagissent en outre.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
30 mars 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations, lorsque des faits et des événements […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
23 mars 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations, lorsque des faits et des événements […]

Enquête sur la montée du populisme - Une définition parfaite?

This article and the next focuses on the “rise of populism”, the second explanation given for two of the major recent political and geopolitical surprises – i.e. the Brexit and the election of Donald Trump as U.S. President. Populism and its rise are potentially at the heart of a possible crisis in Europe, and world-wide, should “populist” and anti-European parties be successful enough in the 2017 elections to be able to implement their program. The fear is high enough in Europe to lead in the Dutch parliamentary elections held on 15 March 2017, their opponents to astonishingly hail as a “terrific” victory the loss of eight seats by the centre-right VVD party,  remaining nonetheless the first political force in the country with 33 seats, while the […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
16 mars 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations, lorsque des faits et des événements […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly - Le 2 mars 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations, lorsque des faits et des événements […]

Au-delà de la fin de la mondialisation - Du Brexit au président américain Trump

Le monde est entré dans une période où l’incertitude règne et où les surprises abondent.

En ce qui concerne 2016, les deux surprises majeures habituellement retenues sont le Brexit ou le vote menant à la sortie du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne, puis à l'élection du président américain Trump contre la candidate démocrate préférée Hillary Clinton. Même si, à court terme, nous pouvions croire que la tourmente frappait seulement ou principalement «l’Occident», les surprises et les incertitudes politiques et géopolitiques se sont multipliées dans le monde entier, à commencer par le choc de la crise financière de 2007 et 2008 et les réactions à la crise. (voir la note de fin pour certaines instances majeures *).

Qu'est-ce qui se passe ainsi? Comment devons-nous faire face à l'incertitude? Ces surprises sont-elles liées ou sont-elles des événements indépendants discrets qu'il serait faux de lier ou d'essayer de comprendre ensemble?

Nous commencerons ici par les surprises de 2016 et l'incertitude qui y est associée, à savoir le Brexit et la présidence américaine de Trump, et nous nous concentrerons plus particulièrement sur les contradictions et les questions qui se posent lorsque nous comparons les deux phénomènes. Nous rechercherons un cadre et des éléments de compréhension, qui pourront ensuite être utilisés dans l’élaboration de scénarios pour l’avenir.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly - 16 février 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations, lorsque des faits et des événements […]

FR
EN FR

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly – 18 April 2019

Credit Image: ESO/José Francisco Salgado (josefrancisco.org) Using horizon scanning, each week, we collect weak – and less weak – signals. These point to new, emerging, escalating or stabilising problems. As a result, they indicate how trends or dynamics evolve. This week actually would tend to lack an obvious overwhelming focus. Alternatively, the accumulation of signals […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
27 April 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… As polarisation rises, not only internationally but also domestically within many countries, weak signals are not only “direct”, describing facts, but also, increasingly, “indirect”, i.e. perspectives on reality indicating more about the positioning of actors, the rising tension(s) and uncertainty, than about facts. The Weekly also […]

Investigating the Rise of Populism (2) – Populism-Labelling and its Dangers

This article focuses on the “rise of populism”, the second explanation given for two of the major recent political and geopolitical surprises – i.e. the Brexit and the election of Donald Trump as U.S. President, and a major concern for many regarding the future evolution of Europe, the EU, and more largely the liberal paradigm in its globalisation guise.

Previously, we presented the current scholarly definition of populism, and suggested that it was less representative of reality than thought at first glance (“A perfect definition?“). Here, we shall focus on a too often forgotten aspect of “populism”, the way the word is actually used to disparagingly brand a protest movement or party and reinsert it within a larger political science framework. We shall explain how this practice of “populism-labelling” is actually fraught with three main dangers, which, furthermore, interact.

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
30 March 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
23 March 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events […]

Investigating the Rise of Populism – A Perfect Definition?

This article and the next focuses on the “rise of populism”, the second explanation given for two of the major recent political and geopolitical surprises – i.e. the Brexit and the election of Donald Trump as U.S. President. Populism and its rise are potentially at the heart of a possible crisis in Europe, and world-wide, should “populist” and anti-European parties be successful enough in the 2017 elections to be able to implement their program. The fear is high enough in Europe to lead in the Dutch parliamentary elections held on 15 March 2017, their opponents to astonishingly hail as a “terrific” victory the loss of eight seats by the centre-right VVD party,  remaining nonetheless the first political force in the country with 33 seats, while the […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
16 March 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly – 2 Mars 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events […]

Beyond the End of Globalisation – From the Brexit to U.S. President Trump

The world has entered a period where uncertainty rules and where surprises abound.

Focusing on 2016, the two major surprises usually singled out are the Brexit or the vote leading to the exit of the U.K. from the European Union, then the election of U.S. President Trump against favourite Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton. Even though a short-term focus could let us believe that the turmoil only or mainly hits “the West”, political and geopolitical surprises and uncertainties have multiplied worldwide, starting at least with the shock of the financial crisis in 2007 and 2008 and responses to it (see end note for some major instances*).

What is thus happening? How are we to tackle the uncertainty? Are these surprises related or discrete independent events that it would be wrong to link or try to understand together?

We shall start here with the 2016 surprises and related ongoing uncertainty, i.e. the Brexit and the U.S. Trump Presidency, and focus more particularly on the contradictions and questions that arise when we compare the two phenomena. We shall seek a framework for and elements of understanding, which can then be used in the development of scenarios for the future.

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly – 16 February 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events […]

EN
FR EN