Modélisation des risques et des incertitudes dynamiques (1): cartographie des risques et des incertitudes

(This article is a fully updated version of the original article published in November 2011 under the title “Creating a Foresight and Warning Model: Mapping a Dynamic Network (I)”). Mapping risk and uncertainty is the second step of a proper process to correctly anticipate and manage risks and uncertainties.  This stage starts with building a model, which, once completed, will describe and explain the issue or question at hand, while allowing for anticipation or foresight. In other words, with the end of the first step, you have selected a risk, an uncertainty, or a series of risks and uncertainties, or an issue of concern, with its proper time frame and scope, for example, what are the risks and uncertainties to […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Revoir la rapidité de la prospective stratégique, des alertes et de la gestion des risques

[Version entièrement réécrite v3] Pour exister, les produits de risque et de prospective ainsi que les avertissements doivent être livrés à ceux qui doivent agir, à savoir les clients, les clients ou les utilisateurs. Ces analyses d'anticipation doivent également être exploitables, ce qui signifie qu'elles doivent inclure les bonnes informations nécessaires pour voir les mesures prises. Pourtant, si vous livrez […]

From the Diaoyu Islands, with Warning

Quelques clés pour comprendre les perceptions chinoises sur les îles Diaoyu et évaluer l’évolution potentielle de sa position à l’avenir.

The Power of Maps

Les cartes sont à la fois des outils d’analyse indispensables et des visuels essentiels pour la livraison de produits de prévision et d’alerte. Ils constituent un type très puissant de forme de livraison, car ils changent à la fois le monde et l’esprit. L'importance cruciale des cartes et du processus de cartographie a notamment été montrée, dans le cas de la naissance des nations et du nationalisme, par deux livres remarquables: Imagined Communities de Benedict Anderson et Siam Mapped: une histoire du géo-corps de une nation par Winichakul Thongchai. S'appuyant sur les découvertes de ces œuvres maîtresses, ainsi que sur ma propre recherche (doctorat), cet article explique le pouvoir des cartes et décrit ensuite les évolutions, les exemples et les possibilités contemporains. Pourquoi les cartes sont-elles des instruments de pouvoir spéciaux? […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Cartes de sécurité de l'eau

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection de cartes relatives à la sécurité mondiale de l'eau, utiles tant pour l'analyse que pour la livraison des produits. Les cartes sont à la fois des outils d’analyse et des visuels essentiels pour la livraison de nos produits de prévision et d’avertissement. Ils constituent une catégorie de formulaires de livraison, qui peuvent en outre être combinés avec d'autres catégories pour répondre au mieux à nos besoins. Les cartes sous droits qui ne permettent pas une utilisation libre et équitable (CC) sont classées au bas de la publication. National Intelligence Council (US), ODNI - 2012: Carte globale de la sécurité de l'eau en carte jointe à la sécurité mondiale de l'eau de 2012, une carte d'évaluation de la communauté du renseignement (FAO) AQUASTAT est le système mondial d'information de la FAO sur l'eau et l'agriculture, développé par la […] ]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Naviguer dans les chroniques d'Everstate

L'image sélectionnée pour ce message est un instantané d'une carte réalisée avec Pearltrees. Cette page présente les différentes manières de suivre et d’accéder à la série de publications constituant The Chronicles of Everstate, au-delà des menus linéaires habituels ou du plan détaillé figurant dans le pied de page du site. Cette idée, qui cartographie les articles mêmes de The Chronicles of Everstate, découle directement de la qualité interactive de cette expérience prospective. Un lecteur fidèle a en effet souligné que, à mesure que le nombre de postes augmentait, la lecture et la compréhension devenaient plus complexes, notamment pour les nouveaux arrivants. Il a suggéré qu'une carte serait très utile pour permettre aux utilisateurs et aux lecteurs de naviguer entre les publications. Nous avons ensuite discuté de différentes manières de mettre en œuvre cette idée. Voici […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Modélisation des risques et des incertitudes dynamiques (2): mappage d'un réseau dynamique

Revenir à Partie 1

En fait, tout modèle SF & W, dans la mesure où il traite principalement du temps, devrait être un réseau dynamique. Comment pouvons-nous espérer obtenir un aperçu potentiel pour l'avenir si notre modèle de compréhension est statique?

Notre carte vise donc à représenter la dynamique potentielle des États. Nous utiliserons notamment ErtmanIl s’agit de la construction d’états passés, mais en le rendant adaptable aux conditions présentes et futures.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Livraison de produits de veille stratégique et d’alerte: apprendre du Web social et mobile?

Comme Cynthia Grabo souligne, un avertissement n'existe pas s'il n'est pas livré. De même, un produit de prospective - ou une évaluation des risques ou une analyse de l’horizon - doit être fourni. En outre, si la prévoyance et l’avertissement doivent pouvoir faire l’objet d’une action, les clients ou les clients - ceux à qui le produit a été livré - doivent prêter attention à la clairvoyance ou à l’avertissement. Ce qu'ils décident de faire avec ceux-ci est une autre histoire. Cependant, du point de vue de SF & W, ils doivent les recevoir, savoir qu'ils les ont reçues et, autant que possible, les considérer.

par Philip Devere, FAL, via Wikimedia Commons

Les efforts de prospective stratégique et d’avenir, ainsi que la littérature connexe, à quelques exceptions près, se sont rarement explicitement concentrés sur cette partie spécifique du processus. Pourtant, c'est crucial. Dans un premier temps, il a beaucoup à apprendre de la partie alerte de l’activité. Ensuite, la prévision stratégique et les alertes peuvent également avoir beaucoup à apprendre de l'approche des réseaux mobiles et sociaux, telle qu'elle est actuellement…

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Real Democracy Now: carte globale - date comme sur la carte

Cette carte des différents mouvements à travers le monde peut être modifiée et mise à jour en collaboration via Google maps. Pour mettre à jour… Il va essayer d'inclure diverses cartes détaillées disponibles en ligne (voir ci-dessous) Afficher Real Democracy Now! - World sur une carte plus grande Dernières cartes du 26 juin 2011 inclus: Real Democracy Now - Greece λες […]

FR
EN FR

Modeling for Dynamic Risks and Uncertainties (1) :
Mapping Risk and Uncertainty

(This article is a fully updated version of the original article published in November 2011 under the title “Creating a Foresight and Warning Model: Mapping a Dynamic Network (I)”). Mapping risk and uncertainty is the second step of a proper process to correctly anticipate and manage risks and uncertainties.  This stage starts with building a model, which, once completed, will describe and explain the issue or question at hand, while allowing for anticipation or foresight. In other words, with the end of the first step, you have selected a risk, an uncertainty, or a series of risks and uncertainties, or an issue of concern, with its proper time frame and scope, for example, what are the risks and uncertainties to […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Revisiting Timeliness for Strategic Foresight and Warning and Risk Management

[Fully rewritten version v3] To exist, risk and foresight products as well as warnings must be delivered to those who must act upon them, the customers, clients or users. These anticipation analyses must also be actionable, which means that they need to include the right information necessary to see action taken. Yet, if you deliver […]

From the Diaoyu Islands, with Warning

Some keys to understand Chinese perceptions on the Diaoyu Islands, and to assess the potential evolution of its position in the future.

The Power of Maps

Maps are both necessary tools for analysis and crucial delivery visuals for foresight and warning products. They constitute a very powerful type of delivery form, as they change both the world and the mind. The pivotal importance of maps and of the process of mapping has notably been shown, in the case of the birth of nations and of nationalism, by two remarkable books: Imagined Communities by Benedict Anderson and Siam Mapped: A History of the Geo-Body of a Nation by Winichakul Thongchai. Building upon the findings of those master-works, as well as on my own (PhD) research, this post explains the power of maps and then outlines contemporary evolutions, examples and possibilities. Why are maps special instruments of power? […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Water Security Maps

You will find below a selection of maps related to global water security, which are useful for both analysis and delivery of products. Maps are both necessary tools for analysis and crucial delivery visuals for our foresight and warning products. They constitute a category of delivery form, which can, furthermore, be combined with other categories to suit at best our needs. The maps under copyrights that do not allow fair free use (C.C.) are filed at the bottom of the post. National Intelligence Council (US), ODNI – 2012: Global Water Security Map Map attached to the 2012 Global Water Security, an Intelligence Community Assessment Aquastat (FAO) maps AQUASTAT is FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture, developed by the Land […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Navigating the Chronicles of Everstate

The featured image for this post is a snapshot of a map done with Pearltrees. This page is about presenting ways to follow and access the series of posts constituting The Chronicles of Everstate, beyond the usual linear menus or the detailed outline in the website footer. This idea, mapping the very posts of The Chronicles of Everstate, is a direct result of the interactive quality of this foresight experiment. One faithful reader, indeed, underlined that, as the number of posts increased, reading and understanding was becoming more complex, notably for newcomers. He suggested that a map would be very helpful to allow users and readers to navigate among posts. We then discussed various ways to implement this idea. Here are […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Creating a Foresight or Warning Model: Mapping a Dynamic Network (II)

Go back to Part 1

Actually, any SF&W model as it primarily deals with time should be a dynamic network. How can we expect obtaining any potential outline for the future if our model for understanding is static?

Our map thus aims at representing the potential dynamics of polities. We shall notably use Ertman’s work on past state-building, but making it adaptable to present and future conditions.

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Delivery of Strategic Foresight and Warning products: learning from the social and mobile web?

As Cynthia Grabo underlines, a warning does not exist if it is not delivered. Similarly, a foresight product – or risk assessment or horizon scan – has to be delivered. Furthermore, if foresight and warning are to be actionable, then clients or customers – those to whom the product has been delivered – must pay heed to the foresight, or warning. What they decide to do with those is another story. Yet, from the point of view of SF&W, they must receive them, know they have received them and, as much as possible, consider them.

by Philip Devere, FAL, via Wikimedia Commons

Strategic foresight and futures’ efforts, as well as related literature, with a few exceptions, have rarely focused explicitly on this specific part of the overall process. Yet, it is crucial. As a first step, it has much to learn from the warning part of the activity. Then, both strategic foresight and warning may also have much to learn from the mobile and social networking approach, as it is being …

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Real Democracy Now: global map – date as on map

This map of the various movements across the globe can be collaboratively modified and updated through Google maps. To update… It will try to include various detailed maps available online (see below) Afficher Real Democracy Now! – World sur une carte plus grande Latest 26 June 2011 Maps included: Real Democracy Now – Greece Όλες […]