En guerre contre l'État islamique - De la Syrie à la région

Entre le 29 septembre et le 21 octobre 2015, la coalition dirigée par les États-Unis a mené 95 frappes aériennes sur le territoire syrien contre l'État islamique (Commandement central des États-Unis, Opération Inherent Resolve, exposé du 22 octobre 2015). Le 27 octobre, le secrétaire américain à la Défense, Ashton Carter, a annoncé que les États-Unis intensifieraient leur campagne contre l'État islamique avec les «trois R» - Raqqa, Ramadi et Raids », ce qui impliquerait notamment le renforcement des frappes aériennes américaines et de la coalition. «Action directe sur le terrain» - les «raids» («Déclaration liminaire du secrétaire à la Défense, Ash Carter, sur la commission des forces armées du Sénat contre l'État islamique», 27 octobre 2015), dans l'attente de l'annonce du déploiement d'une très petite force spéciale le sol dans le nord de la Syrie (Reuters, 31 oct. 2015). Comme un […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Transmutation d'énergie au Moyen-Orient: Egypte et Israël

Alors que le changement climatique frappe le Moyen-Orient et que la Syrie et l'Irak sont en guerre (Valantin, «Le cauchemar climatique au Moyen-Orient», The Red Team Analysis Society, 14 septembre 2015), l'Égypte et Israël traversent révolution énergétique. En effet, depuis 2011, Israël a découvert deux gisements offshore de gaz naturel géants (Valantin, «Israël, le gaz naturel et l'électricité au Moyen-Orient», The Red Team Analysis Society, 27 avril 2015), tandis qu'en août 2015, le La société italienne ENI a découvert un gigantesque gisement naturel offshore dans la zone économique exclusive de l'Égypte (Anthony Dipaola, «ENI découvre d'énormes gisements de gaz en Méditerranée», Bloomberg Business, 30 août 2015). En d'autres termes, ces deux pays se transforment en une nouvelle, […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Multiplication de crises: surprises ou chocs stratégiques?

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, les surprises stratégiques se sont accumulées et accélérées plutôt que reculées, et elles continuent à le faire. Différents acteurs, des gouvernements et des organisations internationales au monde de l'entreprise en passant par les citoyens, semblent être constamment et de plus en plus surpris par des événements qu'ils ne peuvent anticiper, et donc pour lesquels ils ne sont pas préparés. Le printemps arabe (par exemple […]

Cauchemar climatique au Moyen-Orient

L'été 2015 a été un terrible climat et une source de changement d'énergie au Moyen-Orient. De fin juillet à la mi-août, une terrible vague de chaleur a balayé toute la région, de l'Iran au golfe Persique, jusqu'en Égypte, faisant des centaines de morts et une lourde pression sur la santé des personnes, les infrastructures et la cohésion sociale ( Kyle Jaeger, «Le« Heat Dome »au Moyen-Orient ravage les habitants de la région», ATTN, 4 août 2015). À la fin de cette séquence, début septembre, le géant pétrolier italien ENI a annoncé avoir trouvé un gigantesque gisement de gaz naturel au large des côtes dans la zone économique exclusive égyptienne (Jeff Reed, «La découverte d'un éléphant […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La guerre en Libye et son avenir - Dynamique tribale et guerre civile (3)

Dans notre précédent post, nous avions discuté des tribus Amazigh et Touareg, qui avaient été marginalisées et persécutées sous Kadhafi, et de leur implication actuelle dans la guerre. De même, les Toubou ont récemment fait face à la persécution et à la marginalisation, mais sont devenus plus puissants après la révolution de 2011, résultat de leur contribution aux forces révolutionnaires. En conséquence, le rapport de forces sur les itinéraires de contrebande dans le sud de la Libye (Fezzan) a été remplacé par un accord favorisant les Toubou, qui a contraint les Toubou et les Touareg à mettre fin à leur longue trêve et à leur affrontement à Ubari. Ce changement de pouvoir a également provoqué de violents affrontements entre Toubou et des membres de tribus arabes sur des itinéraires de contrebande et du pouvoir régional. Ici, nous allons discuter des griefs politiques Toubou, leur […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Israël, gaz naturel et énergie au Moyen-Orient

Benyamin Netanyahu, le Premier ministre israélien, plaisante sur le fait que Moïse a conduit son peuple pendant quarante ans dans le désert au seul endroit du Moyen-Orient sans pétrole (Marin Katusa, The Colder War, 2014). Et, en effet, depuis les soixante premières années de son existence, le manque de ressources énergétiques a été une difficulté majeure pour Israël. Cependant, un profond changement semble être en cours depuis que deux gisements de gaz naturel géants en mer ont été découverts dans la zone économique exclusive israélienne en 2011. Les gisements Tamar et Leviathan contiennent respectivement 10 et 19 000 milliards de pieds cubes de gaz. des réserves estimées, ce qui pourrait assurer des décennies de consommation intérieure ainsi que […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 197 - L'équilibre instable au Moyen-Orient

Chaque semaine, notre scan recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Lisez le scan du 2 avril → Monde - Trois articles de cette semaine sont particulièrement intéressants, en eux-mêmes mais aussi lorsqu'ils sont lus ensemble. Amal Mudallali «Désolée, Obama: le monde arabe n'a plus besoin de l'Amérique» pour l'intérêt national, met l'accent sur la fierté et le «nouvel esprit arabe» résultant de la […]

Mise à jour - La guerre en Libye et son avenir - L'avancement et les impacts de l'État islamique

Au cours des dernières semaines, plusieurs événements majeurs sont survenus en Libye qui affecteront la dynamique de la guerre civile et, à plus long terme, très probablement son issue. Frappes aériennes égyptiennes sur le sol libyen, renforcement du soutien et de la participation de la Russie au Conseil des représentants (le gouvernement libyen internationalement reconnu), suspension, puis reprise de la participation du Conseil aux pourparlers de paix des Nations unies, de sa demande de lever l'embargo sur les armes et d'un soutien contradictoire Les Nations Unies pour une intervention sont toutes directement liées aux hostilités croissantes et à la menace d'éléments de l'État islamique en Libye. Les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne s'opposent actuellement à toute intervention et à l'appel de la Libye à la levée de l'embargo sur les armes, invoquant l'absence d'un gouvernement unifié qui ne pourrait […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 187 - La liberté d'expression, l'autre et la guerre

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Nous présentons ci-dessous certaines des caractéristiques les plus intéressantes ou les plus pertinentes pour chaque section. Monde (toutes les questions liées à la guerre, à la sécurité internationale et nationale) - Au lendemain des attentats du Jihad à Paris au cours de la deuxième semaine de 2015, un débat crucial sur la liberté d'expression est en train de naître. Ce n'est pas seulement un débat philosophique et intellectuel. Il mobilise des populations à travers le monde et peut diviser des populations au sein de pays, comme le montrent les échanges sur les réseaux sociaux sur le sujet. Cela se traduit en termes diplomatiques, comme en témoigne la décision du Royaume du Maroc de ne pas participer à la marche à Paris du 11 janvier, aux réactions du 14 janvier au Moyen-Orient […]

The remaining part of this article is for our membres. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our membres and access this article. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 171 - Al-Qaïda en Inde

Chaque analyse, notre analyse recueille les signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Lisez l'analyse du 25 septembre → The Weekly est l'analyse de The Red (Team) Analysis Society et se concentre sur les problèmes de sécurité nationale et internationale. Il s’agissait d’une expérience utilisant Paper.li comme moyen de recueillir des idées, notamment via Twitter. Son succès et […]

FR
EN FR

At War against the Islamic State – From Syria to the Region

Between 29 September and 21 October 2015, the U.S. led coalition conducted 95 airstrikes on Syrian territory against the Islamic State (U.S. Central Command, Operation Inherent Resolve, briefing 22 Oct 2015). On 27 October, U.S. Defense Secretary Ashton Carter announced that the U.S. would step up its campaign against the Islamic State with the “‘three R’s’ – Raqqa, Ramadi, and Raids”, involving notably ramping up U.S. and coalition air strikes as well as “direct action on the ground” – the “Raids”  (“Secretary of Defense Ash Carter opening statement on counter-ISIL Senate Armed Services Committee”, October 27, 2015), anticipating the announcement of  the deployment of a very small special force on the ground in Northern Syria (Reuters, 31 Oct 2015).  As a […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Energy Transmutation in the Middle East: Egypt and Israel

While climate change is hammering the Middle East, and as Syria and Iraq are engulfed in war (Valantin, “Climate nightmare in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, September 14, 2015), Egypt and Israel are going through a profound energy revolution. In effect, since 2011, Israel has discovered two giant natural gas off-shore deposits (Valantin, “Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, April 27, 2015) while in August 2015, the oil Italian company ENI has discovered a mammoth off-shore natural deposit in the Egyptian economic exclusive zone (Anthony Dipaola, “ENI discovers massive gas fields in the Mediterranean”, Bloomberg Business, August 30, 2015). In other terms, these two countries are transforming themselves into a new, […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Multiplicating Crises: Strategic Surprises or Strategic Shocks?

Over the last two decades, strategic surprises have accumulated and accelerated rather than receded, and they continue to do so. Various actors, from governments and international organisations to the corporate world through citizens seem to be constantly and increasingly surprised by events they fail to anticipate, and thus for which they are unprepared. The Arab Spring (e.g. […]

Climate Nightmare in the Middle East

The summer of 2015 has been a terrible climate moment and an energy game changer in the Middle East. From the end of July to the middle of August, a terrible heat wave has swept the whole region, from Iran and the Persian Gulf to Egypt, causing hundreds of deaths and a heavy pressure on the health of people, the infrastructures and social cohesion (Kyle Jaeger, “”Heat Dome” in the Middle East is ravaging region’s residents”, ATTN, August 4th, 2015). At the end of this sequence, at the beginning of September, the Italian oil giant corporation ENI announced having found a mammoth off shore deposit of natural gas in the Egyptian economic exclusive zone (Jeff Reed, “ Elephant discovery made […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

War in Libya and Its Futures – Tribal Dynamics and Civil War (3)

In our previous post, we discussed the Amazigh and Tuareg tribes, who were marginalized and persecuted under Qaddafi, and their current involvement in the war. Similarly, the Toubou faced persecution and marginalization in the recent past, but became more powerful after the 2011 revolution, a result of their contribution to revolutionary forces. As a result, the balance of power over smuggling routes in Southern Libya (Fezzan) shifted to one that favored the Toubou, which drove the Toubou and Tuareg to end their long-lasting Midi Midi truce and clash in Ubari. This shift in power has also brought about violent clashes between Toubou and Arab tribesmen over smuggling routes and regional power. Here, we shall discuss the Toubou political grievances, their […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East

Benyamin Netanyahu, the Israeli Prime minister is known to joke about the fact that Moses led his people during forty years in the desert to the only place in the Middle East without oil (Marin Katusa, The Colder War, 2014). And, indeed, for the first sixty years of its existence, the lack of energy resources has been a major difficulty for Israel. However, a profound change seems to be underway, since two giant off-shore natural gas deposits have been discovered in the Israeli exclusive economic zone in 2011. The Tamar and the Leviathan fields hold respectively 10 and between 19 and 22 trillion cubic feet of gas of estimated reserves, which could ensure decades of domestic consumption as well as […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 197 – Unstable Equilibrium in the Middle East

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Read the 2 April scan →  World – Three articles this week are particularly interesting, in themselves but also when read together. Amal Mudallali “Sorry, Obama: The Arab World No Longer Needs America” for The National Interest, focuses on the pride and “new Arab spirit” resulting from the Saudi-led […]

Update – War in Libya and its Futures – The Islamic State Advance and Impacts

In the past weeks, several major developments occurred in Libya that will affect the dynamics of the civil war, and on the longer term, most probably, its outcome. Egyptian airstrikes on Libyan soil, increased Russian support and involvement with the Council of Representatives (the internationally-recognized Libyan government), the Council’s suspended then renewed participation in the UN peace talks, its request to remove the arms embargo, and conflicting support in the UN for an intervention are all directly linked to the increased hostilities and threat from Islamic State elements in Libya. The United States and Britain stand currently opposed to any intervention and to Libya’s appeal to lift the arms embargo, citing the lack of a unified government that could not […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 187 – Freedom of Speech, the Other, and War

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… We present below some of the most interesting or relevant features for each section. World (all matters related to war, international and national security) – In the aftermath of the Jihadi attacks in Paris during the second week of 2015, a crucial debate surrounding freedom of speech is emerging. It is not only a philosophical and intellectual debate. It mobilizes populations across the world and can divide populations within countries, as show the exchanges on the social networks on the topic. It is translated in diplomatic terms, as show the decision of the Kingdom of Morocco not to participate to the march in Paris on 11 January, the 14 January reactions in the Middle East […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 171– Al-Qaeda in India

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Read the 25 September scan → The Weekly is the scan of The Red (Team) Analysis Society and it focuses on national and international security issues. It was started as an experiment with Paper.li as a way to collect ideas, notably through Twitter. Its success and […]

EN
FR EN