Comment analyser les menaces à la sécurité futures (4): scénarios et guerre

This article focuses on scenarios for war. It explains first why scenarios need to be mutually exclusive. Then it provides logical templates for building scenarios dealing with war. Finally it offers an updated bibliography of scenarios for Syria over time. Towards an Operational Methodology to Analyse Future Security Threats and Political Risk (1) Methodology to […]

Quand la gestion des risques rencontre la prévoyance et l'avertissement stratégiques

La gestion des risques est codifiée par l'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO). Il s'adresse à toute organisation concernée par le risque, qu'elle soit publique ou privée (Sandrine Tranchard, «La nouvelle norme ISO 31000 simplifie la gestion des risques», ISO News, 15 février 2018). Ses prédécesseurs sont la science actuarielle, c’est-à-dire des méthodologies permettant d’évaluer les risques en matière d’assurance […]

Analyse de prospective stratégique et d'alerte précoce

La prévision stratégique et l'alerte (SF & W) sont à la fois un processus et une analyse. Par analyse SF & W, nous entendons toutes les méthodologies et questions connexes permettant de développer une compréhension enracinée dans la réalité qui générera les meilleurs produits d’anticipation, utiles aux décideurs et aux décideurs politiques pour la réalisation de leur mission (trouver son chemin dans la myriade de domaines). Étiquettes […]

Visualiser les étapes pour prévoir l'avenir et s'y préparer

La prospective stratégique et l’avertissement ou, plus généralement, l’anticipation constituent un processus étape par étape pour anticiper l’avenir de manière concrète. Le processus de type graphique idéal présenté ci-dessous est le résultat de plus d'une décennie de travail avec et sur les systèmes d'anticipation, des systèmes d'alerte précoce visant à prévenir les conflits pour les agences […]

Modélisation des risques et des incertitudes dynamiques (1): cartographie des risques et des incertitudes

(This article is a fully updated version of the original article published in November 2011 under the title “Creating a Foresight and Warning Model: Mapping a Dynamic Network (I)”). Mapping risk and uncertainty is the second step of a proper process to correctly anticipate and manage risks and uncertainties.  This stage starts with building a model, which, once completed, will describe and explain the issue or question at hand, while allowing for anticipation or foresight. In other words, with the end of the first step, you have selected a risk, an uncertainty, or a series of risks and uncertainties, or an issue of concern, with its proper time frame and scope, for example, what are the risks and uncertainties to […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Intelligence, prévision et alerte stratégiques, gestion des risques, prévisions ou futurisme?

Cet article définit et explique brièvement les différents noms et labels attribués aux activités et pratiques anticipant ou anticipant l’avenir. En effet, de la gestion des risques à la prévision stratégique et à l'avertissement (SF & W), le champ d'anticipation comprend de nombreuses perspectives et pratiques centrées sur différents thèmes. Pendant ce temps, divers acteurs utilisent des noms différents pour SF & W, ou des approches très similaires. Il est donc important de clarifier la signification de divers noms et étiquettes, même si les frontières entre les catégories sont souvent floues.

Prospective stratégique, alerte, risque et renseignement: textes et documents

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des documents publics et des produits liés à la prospective stratégique, aux alertes, à l'analyse de risque et au renseignement, publiés par des acteurs étatiques et privés - en construction.

Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - Scénario 2 Partition

Nous allons maintenant discuter de l'organisation, des indicateurs et de la probabilité des différents scénarios de partition, après avoir détaillé les indicateurs et déterminé la probabilité d'intervention dans le dernier article. Note: Dans l'article suivant, nous utiliserons l'acronyme COR pour Conseil des représentants (nationalistes), GNC pour Congrès général national (islamistes) et GNA pour Gouvernement d’accord national (gouvernement d’union) soutenu par l’ONU. Organisation des scénarios et des indicateurs Etant donné que des acteurs externes interviennent déjà en Libye, comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, ainsi que le fait que les pays environnants sont confrontés à la migration, à la contrebande et aux effets jihadistes de la guerre civile en Libye, nous avons organisé les scénarios parent ces certitudes. La prochaine branche de scénarios, qui ne s'est pas encore produite, est […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - Méthodologie du scénario 2

Dans cet article et le suivant, nous évaluerons la probabilité des principaux scénarios d’intervention militaire étrangère, que nous avons commencé à détailler dans «Scénarios pour l’avenir de la Libye - Scénario 2: La force arabe commune prend parti (1)». Nous nous concentrerons sur les travaux méthodologiques préliminaires permettant de mieux décrire les cas d'intervention pour les estimations de vraisemblance. Dans le dernier article, nous avons discuté de la probabilité du scénario 1, dans lequel les acteurs libyens négocient un accord de paix - scénario pour lequel la probabilité que nous avons évaluée était inférieure à 20%, ou hautement improbable. Comme indiqué précédemment, nous utiliserons la méthodologie développée par The Red (Team) Analysis Society, qui s'appuie sur Heuer («Evaluer la probabilité d'un scénario», en psychologie de l'analyse du renseignement, […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

GÉOPOLITIQUE, INCERTITUDES ET AFFAIRES (6):
L'impact psychologique des attentats terroristes perpétrés par l'État islamique

Cet article est la deuxième d'une série d'une série de deux parties visant à identifier les impacts des attaques terroristes actuelles et très probablement à venir de l'Etat islamique et d'autres groupes djihadistes, et se concentre sur les principales conséquences socio-psychologiques. Il en résulte un Premier article, qui a commencé à esquisser un cadre d’évaluation d’impact basé sur notre compréhension actuelle des conséquences économiques du terrorisme, soulignant notamment la nécessité d’utiliser la cartographie en tant que méthodologie pour pouvoir évaluer correctement les caractéristiques complexes et en cascade de ces impacts. L’objectif plus large de la série est notamment de comprendre si les entreprises doivent ou non négliger ces agressions et les incertitudes géopolitiques connexes, tout en cherchant des moyens de prévoir ces risques afin d’optimiser les réponses (voir Hélène Lavoix, «Entreprises et géopolitique: pris dans les tourbillons? (1)”, The Red (Team) Analysis Society, 17 oct 2016)

Pour savoir quels pourraient être les impacts psychologiques de la série d'attaques terroristes en cours, nous

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

How to Analyse Future Security Threats (4): Scenarios and War

This article focuses on scenarios for war. It explains first why scenarios need to be mutually exclusive. Then it provides logical templates for building scenarios dealing with war. Finally it offers an updated bibliography of scenarios for Syria over time. Towards an Operational Methodology to Analyse Future Security Threats and Political Risk (1) Methodology to […]

When Risk Management Meets Strategic Foresight and Warning

Risk management is codified by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). It is aimed at any organisation concerned with risk, be it public or private (Sandrine Tranchard, “The new ISO 31000 keeps risk management simple“, ISO News, 15 Feb 2018). Its forebear is actuarial science, i.e. methodologies to assess risk in insurance and finance (e.g. […]

Strategic Foresight & Warning Analysis

Strategic Foresight and Warning (SF&W) is at once process and analysis. By SF&W analysis we mean all methodologies and related issues allowing for the development of an understanding grounded in reality that will generate best anticipatory products, useful to decision-makers and policy-makers for carrying out their mission (to find your way within the myriad of labels […]

Visualising the Steps to Foresee the Future and Get Ready for It

Strategic foresight and warning or more broadly anticipation is a step by step process to anticipate the future in an actionable way. The graphic ideal type process displayed below is the result of more than a decade of work with and about systems of anticipation, from early warning systems to prevent conflicts for aid agencies to […]

Modeling for Dynamic Risks and Uncertainties (1) : Mapping Risk and Uncertainty

(This article is a fully updated version of the original article published in November 2011 under the title “Creating a Foresight and Warning Model: Mapping a Dynamic Network (I)”). Mapping risk and uncertainty is the second step of a proper process to correctly anticipate and manage risks and uncertainties.  This stage starts with building a model, which, once completed, will describe and explain the issue or question at hand, while allowing for anticipation or foresight. In other words, with the end of the first step, you have selected a risk, an uncertainty, or a series of risks and uncertainties, or an issue of concern, with its proper time frame and scope, for example, what are the risks and uncertainties to […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Intelligence, Strategic Foresight and Warning, Risk Management, Forecasting or Futurism?

This article defines and briefly explains the various names and labels given to activities and practices anticipating or foreseeing the future. Indeed, from risk management to Strategic Foresight and Warning (SF&W) the field of anticipation includes many perspectives and practices centred on different themes. Meanwhile, various actors use different names for SF&W, or very similar approaches. It is thus important to clarify what various labels and names mean, even if borders between categories are often fuzzy.

Strategic Foresight, Warning, Risk, and Intelligence Products and Documents

You will find below public documents and products related to strategic foresight, warning, risk analysis and intelligence, published by state and private actors – under construction.

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Partition

We shall now discuss the organization, indicators, and likelihood of the various partition scenarios, after having detailed the indicators and determined the likelihood for intervention in the last article. Note: In the following article, we shall use the acronym COR for the Council of Representatives (nationalists), GNC for the General National Congress (Islamists), and GNA for the UN-backed Government of National Accord (unity government). Organizing the Scenarios and Indicators Considering that external actors are already intervening in Libya, as we saw previously, as well as the fact that surrounding countries are experiencing migrant, smuggling, and jihadist spillover from Libya’s civil war, we organized the parent scenarios to account for these certainties. The next branch of scenarios—which have not occurred yet—are […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Methodology

In this article and the next, we shall evaluate the likelihood of the primary scenarios for foreign military intervention, which we started to detail in “Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Scenario 2: The Joint Arab Force Takes a Side (1).” We shall focus on preliminary methodological work allowing for better describing the intervention cases for likelihood estimates. In the last article we discussed the likelihood of Scenario 1, where the Libyan actors negotiate a peace settlement—a scenario for which the probability we assessed was less than 20%, or highly unlikely. As detailed previously, we shall use the methodology developed by The Red (Team) Analysis Society, building upon Heuer (“Assessing Probability of a Scenario”, in Psychology of Intelligence Analysis, […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

GEOPOLITICS, UNCERTAINTIES AND BUSINESS (6) :
The Psychological Impact of the Islamic State Terrorist Attacks

This article is the second of a two-parts of a series seeking to identify the impacts of the current and most probably forthcoming terrorist attacks by the Islamic State and other jihadist groups, and focuses on major socio-psychological consequences. It follows a first article, which started outlining a framework for impact assessment out of our current understanding of the economic consequences of terrorism, which notably pointed out the need to use mapping as methodology if the complex and cascading characters of these impacts are to be properly assessed. The larger aim of the series is notably to understand if businesses should or not neglect these aggressions and related geopolitical uncertainties, while finding out ways to foresee these risks so as to best design answers (see Helene Lavoix, “Businesses and Geopolitics: Caught up in the Whirlwinds? (1)”, The Red (Team) Analysis Society, 17 Oct 2016)

To find out which could be the psychological impacts of the ongoing string of terrorist attacks, we

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

EN
FR EN