GÉOPOLITIQUE, INCERTITUDES ET AFFAIRES (6):
L'impact psychologique des attentats terroristes perpétrés par l'État islamique

Cet article est la deuxième d'une série d'une série de deux parties visant à identifier les impacts des attaques terroristes actuelles et très probablement à venir de l'Etat islamique et d'autres groupes djihadistes, et se concentre sur les principales conséquences socio-psychologiques. Il en résulte un Premier article, qui a commencé à esquisser un cadre d’évaluation d’impact basé sur notre compréhension actuelle des conséquences économiques du terrorisme, soulignant notamment la nécessité d’utiliser la cartographie en tant que méthodologie pour pouvoir évaluer correctement les caractéristiques complexes et en cascade de ces impacts. L’objectif plus large de la série est notamment de comprendre si les entreprises doivent ou non négliger ces agressions et les incertitudes géopolitiques connexes, tout en cherchant des moyens de prévoir ces risques afin d’optimiser les réponses (voir Hélène Lavoix, «Entreprises et géopolitique: pris dans les tourbillons? (1)”, The Red (Team) Analysis Society, 17 oct 2016)

Pour savoir quels pourraient être les impacts psychologiques de la série d'attaques terroristes en cours, nous

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Réflexion stratégique dans l'Arctique russe: quand les menaces deviennent des opportunités (1)

Cette série de deux articles porte sur le développement actuel de la région arctique de la Russie, tout en expliquant et en démontrant l’importance de l’utilisation de la réflexion stratégique pour les gouvernements ainsi que pour les acteurs du monde des affaires. En effet, la dynamique internationale des changements géopolitiques et environnementaux, y compris leurs interactions, devient si rapide et si puissante que les acteurs politiques et commerciaux […]

Invasion Z: Guerres de zombies ou guerres de ressources?

Quels sont les nombreux films, romans, séries télévisées et jeux vidéo qui déclinent la lutte implacable entre survivants humains et populations de zombies en prolifération? Ces «chroniques» de l'invasion mondiale de zombies sont tellement omniprésentes dans notre culture mondiale du XXIe siècle et ont atteint un statut d'une telle importance qu'elles ont même inspiré un plan de formation du Département de la Défense américain en 2014, ainsi en tant que véritable séance d'entraînement militaire en 2012. Quel est l'enjeu stratégique de la charade très complexe des zombies dans notre cadre contemporain, lorsque les changements socio-environnementaux sont aussi des changements stratégiques? En d'autres termes, quelles sont les dimensions existentielle, politique, géopolitique et militaire de l'invasion zombie? En outre, est […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No91, 14 mars 2013

Balayage d'horizon pour la sécurité nationale No91: Les acteurs et le système: impuissance? Si nous devions estimer le pouvoir des acteurs par leur capacité à stabiliser le système, ils ne s'en tireraient pas très bien, ce qui est en soi un signe que les tensions vont probablement continuer à monter et à s'intensifier. portée. Une des questions intéressantes serait donc la suivante: combien de temps ce système peut-il résister à la pression jusqu’à ce qu’il casse?

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No82, 10 janvier 2013

Balayage d'horizon pour la sécurité nationale - No 82 - À propos de relativité: si, par exemple, nous pensons que la Grèce participera au G20 dans 7 ans ou si nous sommes à la fin de la crise économique, notamment en Europe, ces développements "nouveaux" du pétrole et l'utilisation du charbon sont très positifs, alors l'indice de chaleur de l'Australie, les chiffres du chômage européen ou la nouvelle règle de liquidité de Bâle pourraient être (seulement «pourraient» bien sûr) des signaux faibles indiquant que quelque chose ne va pas… si nous ne croyons pas les déclarations initiales, les indications sont de puissants signaux d'escalade, parmi tant d'autres.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No78, 13 décembre 2012

Horizon pour la sécurité nationale - No78: Les décisions politiques en Grèce et en Irlande (voir vidéos) remettent en question deux normes fondamentales régissant le statut d'État dans le système international: la souveraineté et la territorialité, tandis que la troisième, l'indépendance, ne se porte pas beaucoup mieux dans un contexte de pression financière globalisée et crise. Quel sera l'impact de ces profonds changements dans un monde où les menaces abondent, certaines conventionnelles, d'autres beaucoup plus récentes mais non moins dommageables (comme Sandy)?

From the Diaoyu Islands, with Warning

Quelques clés pour comprendre les perceptions chinoises sur les îles Diaoyu et évaluer l’évolution potentielle de sa position à l’avenir.

2013 - 2018 EVT - Apprendre de la privatisation de l'eau? (Panglossy)

Cet article, comme beaucoup d'autres dans les Chroniques d'Everstate, peut être lu à la fois dans le cadre des scénarios sur l'avenir de l'État-nation, comme expliqué ci-dessous, ou dans le cadre de la section sur la sécurité mondiale de l'eau. Cela montre à quel point tous les problèmes sont liés et que les multiples retours existants ne doivent pas être ignorés. Auparavant: en 2012 EVT, Everstate (le type idéal correspondant à nos pays bien réels créés pour prévoir l’avenir de la gouvernance et de l’État-nation moderne) connaît un mécontentement croissant de sa population. Alarmés par les difficultés croissantes et le mécontentement généralisé, les autorités gouvernementales décident de faire quelque chose lorsque de nouvelles élections commencent, ce qui marque le début du deuxième scénario, Panglossy. Le nouveau gouvernement Everstatan, dépendant de la pensée passée, décide que le retour à l'efficacité économique […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

2013 - 2018 EVT - Outrage imprévu: la privatisation du commun (Panglossy)

Résumé de la semaine dernière: En 2012, Everstate (le type idéal correspondant à nos pays bien réels créés pour prévoir l'avenir de la gouvernance et de l'État-nation moderne) connaît un mécontentement croissant de sa population. Alarmés par les difficultés croissantes et le mécontentement généralisé, les autorités gouvernementales décident de faire quelque chose lorsque de nouvelles élections commencent, ce qui marque le début du deuxième scénario, Panglossy. Le nouveau gouvernement Everstatan, dépendant de la pensée passée, décide que le retour à l'efficacité économique par le biais de la croissance est la clé de la crise. Les premières années, toutefois, ne parviennent pas à ramener la croissance; le pouvoir du lien entre les prêteurs et l'appropriation induite du pouvoir public se poursuivent sans relâche, la réglementation du système financier international ne progressant pas. Les efforts initiaux pour financer la croissance par le biais d'investissements dans les infrastructures […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

2013 - 2018 EVT - Involution (Mamominarch)

Last weeks’ summary: In 2012 EVT, Everstate (the ideal-type corresponding to our very real countries created to foresee the future of governance and of the modern nation-state) knows a rising dissatisfaction of its population. To face the various difficulties and widespread discontent, in a first scenario, Everstate’s governing bodies implement as policies the conclusions of the Mamominarch Commission: a programme of drastic reduction of public expenses over five years through devolution, privatisation and outsourcing. By 2018 EVT, the policies do not lead to a current account surplus as expected nor to a reimbursement of public debt but to a rising current account deficit as well as to the withering away of the nation’s income. (The reader can click on each picture to see a larger version in a new tab – a navigating map of […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

GEOPOLITICS, UNCERTAINTIES AND BUSINESS (6) :
The Psychological Impact of the Islamic State Terrorist Attacks

This article is the second of a two-parts of a series seeking to identify the impacts of the current and most probably forthcoming terrorist attacks by the Islamic State and other jihadist groups, and focuses on major socio-psychological consequences. It follows a first article, which started outlining a framework for impact assessment out of our current understanding of the economic consequences of terrorism, which notably pointed out the need to use mapping as methodology if the complex and cascading characters of these impacts are to be properly assessed. The larger aim of the series is notably to understand if businesses should or not neglect these aggressions and related geopolitical uncertainties, while finding out ways to foresee these risks so as to best design answers (see Helene Lavoix, “Businesses and Geopolitics: Caught up in the Whirlwinds? (1)”, The Red (Team) Analysis Society, 17 Oct 2016)

To find out which could be the psychological impacts of the ongoing string of terrorist attacks, we

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Strategic Thinking in the Russian Arctic: When Threats Become Opportunities (1)

This series of two articles focuses on the current development of the Russian Arctic region, while explaining and demonstrating the importance of using strategic thinking for governments as well as for business actors. Indeed, the international dynamics of geopolitical and environmental changes, including their interactions, are becoming so rapid and powerful that political and business actors have […]

Invasion Z: Zombie Wars or Resource Wars?

What are the numerous movies, novels, TV series and video games declining the implacable struggle between human survivors and proliferating populations of zombies really about? These “chronicles” of the worldwide zombie invasion are so pervasive in our twenty-first century global culture, and they have reached a status of such importance that they have even inspired an actual training plan by the US Department of Defence in 2014, as well as a very real military training session in 2012. What is the strategic issue played out through the very complex zombie charade in our contemporary framework, when socio-environmental changes are also strategic changes? In other terms, what are the existential, political, geopolitical and military dimensions of the zombie invasion? Furthermore, is […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No91, 14 March 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No91: The Actors and the System: Powerlessness? If we were to estimate the power of the actors by their ability to stabilize the system, they would not fare very well, and this, in itself, is a signal that tensions will most probably continue to rise and escalate in intensity as well as widen in scope. One of the interesting question would thus be: How long can this system withstand the pressure until it breaks?

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No82, 10 January 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security – No82 – On relativity: If, for example, we believe that Greece will be in the G20 in 7 years or that we are at the end of the economic crisis, notably in Europe, that “new oil” developments and use of coal are very positive, then, Australia’s heat index or European unemployment figures or Basel’s new liquidity rule might be (only “might” of course) weak signals that something is amiss… if we don’t believe the initial statements then those indications are strong signals of escalation, among so many others.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No78, 13 December 2012

Horizon Scanning for National Security – No78: Political decisions in Greece and Ireland (see videos) question two fundamental norms ruling statehood in the international system: sovereignty and territoriality, while the third one, independence fares not much better under conditions of globalized financial pressure and crisis. What will be the impact of those deep changes in a world where threats abound, some of them conventional, other much newer but no less damaging (as Sandy)?

From the Diaoyu Islands, with Warning

Some keys to understand Chinese perceptions on the Diaoyu Islands, and to assess the potential evolution of its position in the future.

2013 – 2018 EVT – Learning from Water Privatization? (Panglossy)

This post, as many others in the Chronicles of Everstate, can be read both as part of the scenarios on the future of the nation-state, as explained below, or as part of the section on Global Water Security. This shows how all issues are intertwined, and that the multiple existing feedbacks should not be ignored. Previously: In 2012 EVT, Everstate (the ideal-type corresponding to our very real countries created to foresee the future of governance and of the modern nation-state) knows a rising dissatisfaction of its population. Alarmed by the rising difficulties and widespread discontent, the governing authorities decide to do something when new elections start, which begins the second scenario, Panglossy. The new Everstatan government, dependent upon past thinking, decides that a return to economic efficiency […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

2013 – 2018 EVT – Unforeseen Outrage: Privatising the Commons (Panglossy)

Last weeks’ summary: In 2012 EVT, Everstate (the ideal-type corresponding to our very real countries created to foresee the future of governance and of the modern nation-state) knows a rising dissatisfaction of its population. Alarmed by the rising difficulties and widespread discontent, the governing authorities decide to do something when new elections start, which begins the second scenario, Panglossy. The new Everstatan government, dependent upon past thinking, decides that a return to economic efficiency through growth is the key to the crisis. The first years, however, fail to bring back growth; the power of the lenders’ nexus and induced appropriation of public power continue unabated as the regulation of the international financial system does not progress. The initial efforts to fund growth through infrastructure investments show minimal […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

2013 – 2018 EVT – Involution (Mamominarch)

Last weeks’ summary: In 2012 EVT, Everstate (the ideal-type corresponding to our very real countries created to foresee the future of governance and of the modern nation-state) knows a rising dissatisfaction of its population. To face the various difficulties and widespread discontent, in a first scenario, Everstate’s governing bodies implement as policies the conclusions of the Mamominarch Commission: a programme of drastic reduction of public expenses over five years through devolution, privatisation and outsourcing. By 2018 EVT, the policies do not lead to a current account surplus as expected nor to a reimbursement of public debt but to a rising current account deficit as well as to the withering away of the nation’s income. (The reader can click on each picture to see a larger version in a new tab – a navigating map of […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.