Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - Scénario 2 Augmentation des débordements et de la partition

Comme nous en avons discuté dans l'article précédent, il y a déjà intervention et débordement - nous avons donc déterminé la probabilité de trois scénarios de partition pendant l'intervention et les débordements étaient hautement improbables. Dans cet article, nous discuterons de l'organisation, des indicateurs et de la probabilité que les divers scénarios de débordement se produisent en cas de partition et sans partition. Lorsqu’on discute des conséquences potentielles des débordements, le nord se réfère à l’Europe; Est fait référence à l'Egypte; le sud fait référence au Niger et au Tchad; et ouest se réfère à l'Algérie et à la Tunisie. Remarque: dans l'article suivant, nous utiliserons l'acronyme COR pour Conseil des représentants (nationalistes), GNC pour Congrès général national (islamistes) et GNA pour gouvernement gouvernemental de l'Accord national (unité […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly - 21 janvier 2016

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations lorsque des faits et des événements interagissent […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 195 - Attaque au musée en Tunisie, menace globale du djihad et indifférence publique?

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Read the 19 March scan →  World – The deadly attack on the Bardo museum in Tunisia, on 18 March, reminded the world that the Salafi-Jihadi threat is far from being overcome, despite some lassitude displayed by crowds and media over such attacks. One of the interesting signals to notice here, is the small number of crowdsourced articles referring to the attack. Only three articles found their way in The Weekly, when the casualties are far more important than those of the Charlie Hebdo attacks in Paris or of the shooting in Denmark, to say nothing of the impacts to Tunisia’s economy and more broadly polity, and in terms of spread of Jihadi attacks, threat […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La démocratie: la clé pour éviter les guerres futures? (2)

Dans le cadre kantien, différents types d’agents poursuivent la démocratie à trois niveaux: les individus au sein d’une nation, les États dans leurs relations les uns avec les autres et aussi avec leurs citoyens, et l’humanité. Dans cet article, nous verrons comment les individus au sein d'une nation devraient se comporter s'ils veulent réellement respecter les principes démocratiques.

Devraient-ils se rebeller et quand? Devraient-ils soutenir la guerre et quel type de guerre, le cas échéant?

Cet article est la deuxième partie d’une série consacrée à la démocratie, en particulier à son lien avec la guerre, dans le cadre d’événements concernant notamment la Syrie, l’Égypte et le «réveil arabe», mais aussi les mouvements d’opposition européens et américains des années 2010. Le premier article peut être lu iciet le prochain et dernier ici.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La démocratie: la clé pour éviter les guerres futures? (1)

L'été 2013 a été fertile en bouleversements et en événements violents, entouré de controverses houleuses et très souvent d'une absence de neutralité dans les médias. La communauté internationale est divisée. En conséquence, il est difficile de porter des jugements éclairés et équilibrés. Prendre des décisions politiques est donc encore plus difficile que d'habitude, mettant en évidence les […]

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No108, 11 juillet 2013

Un aperçu de l'avenir? Comme prévu la semaine dernière, les événements égyptiens ont déjà commencé à avoir un impact sur le monde. L'influence monte et descend non seulement dans le monde arabe, mais aussi au niveau international, avec ce qui semble être une lutte américaine pour donner un sens aux événements et réagir de manière adéquate et une politique étrangère ferme de la Russie. La tension monte également avec les attaques dans le Sinaï, alors que de nouvelles perspectives pour l’opposition syrienne pourraient bien émerger. Sur le plan intérieur, l'approche Tamarod atteint non seulement la Tunisie mais également la Libye. Entre temps, sur Twitter, la connexion a commencé à être établie entre la Turquie et l’Égypte, chaque partie soutenant son homologue de l’autre pays.
Les choses semblent cependant loin d'être réglées en Égypte, comme dans le reste du monde. Si le choix d'El-Beblawi…

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No91, 14 mars 2013

Balayage d'horizon pour la sécurité nationale No91: Les acteurs et le système: impuissance? Si nous devions estimer le pouvoir des acteurs par leur capacité à stabiliser le système, ils ne s'en tireraient pas très bien, ce qui est en soi un signe que les tensions vont probablement continuer à monter et à s'intensifier. portée. Une des questions intéressantes serait donc la suivante: combien de temps ce système peut-il résister à la pression jusqu’à ce qu’il casse?

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No88, 21 février 2013

Balayage d'horizon pour la sécurité nationale n ° 88

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No87, 14 février 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No87 - Une nouvelle panacée universelle est née: le gaz de schiste et le pétrole? Ne devrions-nous pas nous réjouir et oublier le reste?

Trial by Fire for Foresight: Les prévisions de 2012 de The Economist

The Economist montre l'exemple dans un exercice courageux mais qui n'a pratiquement jamais été fait: revenir à notre propre vision et évaluer, à la lumière du présent, ce qui était bien et ce qui n'allait pas. Il nous fournit un exemple de la manière dont de telles leçons pourraient être tirées, souligne les questions à poser et les principaux défis à anticiper, et montre comment des biais peuvent faire perdre de la clairvoyance.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Increased Spillover and Partition

As we discussed in the previous article, intervention and spillover are already occurring—thus we determined the likelihood of three partition scenarios occurring in the midst of intervention and spillover was highly unlikely. In this article, we shall discuss the organization, indicators, and likelihood of the various spillover scenarios occurring both in the event of partition and without partition. When discussing the potential directions of spillover, north refers to Europe; east refers to Egypt; south refers to Niger and Chad; and west refers to Algeria and Tunisia. Note: In the following article, we shall use the acronym COR for the Council of Representatives (nationalists), GNC for the General National Congress (Islamists), and GNA for the UN-backed Government of National Accord (unity […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly – 21 January 2016

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events interact […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly 195 – Tunisia Museum Attack, Global Jihadi Threat and Public Indifference?

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Read the 19 March scan →  World – The deadly attack on the Bardo museum in Tunisia, on 18 March, reminded the world that the Salafi-Jihadi threat is far from being overcome, despite some lassitude displayed by crowds and media over such attacks. One of the interesting signals to notice here, is the small number of crowdsourced articles referring to the attack. Only three articles found their way in The Weekly, when the casualties are far more important than those of the Charlie Hebdo attacks in Paris or of the shooting in Denmark, to say nothing of the impacts to Tunisia’s economy and more broadly polity, and in terms of spread of Jihadi attacks, threat […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Democracy: the Key to Avoiding Future Wars? (2)

In the Kantian framework, different kinds of agents pursue democracy at three levels: the individuals within a nation, the states in their relationships with one another and also with their citizens, and humankind. In this article, we shall look at how individuals within a nation should behave if they want to truly abide by democratic principles.

Should they rebel and when? Should they support war, and which type of war if any?

This article is the second part of a series reflecting upon Democracy, especially its link to war, in the framework of events, notably regarding Syria, Egypt and the “Arab Awakening” but also the 2010s European and American opposition movements. The first article can be read here, and the next and final one here.

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Democracy: the Key to Avoiding Future Wars? (1)

The summer 2013 has been fertile in upheavals and violent events, surrounded by heated controversies and very often by an absence of neutrality in the media. The international community is divided. As a result, informed and balanced judgements are difficult to achieve. Taking political decisions is thus even harsher than usual, bringing to the fore […]

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No108, 11 July 2013

A glimpse into the future? As expected last week, the Egyptian events have already started impacting the world. Influence is rising and falling not only within the Arab World but also internationally, with what appears to be an American struggle to make sense of the events and respond adequately and a steadfast Russian foreign policy. Tension also rises with attacks in the Sinai, while a new outlook for the Syrian opposition could well be emerging. Domestically, the Tamarod approach reaches not only Tunisia but also Libya. Meanwhile, on twitter, the connection has started being made between Turkey and Egypt, each side supporting its counterpart in the other country.
Things seem however far from being settled in Egypt, as in the rest of the world. If the choice of El-Beblawi…

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No91, 14 March 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No91: The Actors and the System: Powerlessness? If we were to estimate the power of the actors by their ability to stabilize the system, they would not fare very well, and this, in itself, is a signal that tensions will most probably continue to rise and escalate in intensity as well as widen in scope. One of the interesting question would thus be: How long can this system withstand the pressure until it breaks?

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No88, 21 February 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No88

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No87, 14 February 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No87 – A new universal panacea is born: shale gas and oil? Should we not rejoice and forget the rest?

Trial by Fire for Foresight: The 2012 Predictions of The Economist

The Economist shows the lead in a courageous yet hardly ever done exercise: going back to our own foresight and assess, in the light of the present, what was right and what was wrong. It provides us with an example of how such lessons learned could be endeavoured, underlines questions that should be asked and key challenges for anticipation, and exemplifies how biases can derail foresight.

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.