Évaluer les probabilités pour l'avenir de la Libye - Une victoire salafiste?

Dans cet article, nous évaluerons la probabilité d'une victoire totale à moyen terme d'Al-Qaïda et de l'État islamique en Libye. Par victoire, nous entendons une victoire complète d'un côté sur ses adversaires, qui n'est pas imposée de haut en bas par des puissances extérieures. Dans l'article précédent, nous avions évalué la probabilité d'une victoire durable de chaque gouvernement, en concluant qu'une victoire du CdR était la moins improbable. Maintenant que cette intervention a déjà lieu, comme nous l'avons vu dans notre article sur les scénarios d'intervention, les scénarios de «victoire salafiste» sont considérés comme des sous-scénarios du scénario 2: intervention plutôt que des scénarios indépendants. En tant que tel, cela sera reflété dans les indicateurs, la cartographie et les probabilités. En effet, alors que les événements se déroulaient et que l'intervention prenait […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Évaluation des probabilités pour l'avenir de la Libye - Scénarios de victoires (2)

Dans cet article, nous évaluerons la probabilité d'une victoire durable du GNC, du GNA et du CdR, en d'autres termes, de la capacité de chaque gouvernement à obtenir non seulement la victoire, mais également à conserver un contrôle durable. Par victoire, nous entendons une victoire complète d'un côté sur ses adversaires, qui n'est pas imposée de haut en bas par des puissances extérieures. Dans l'article précédent, nous avons évalué la probabilité de la victoire initiale de chaque gouvernement, en concluant qu'une victoire du CdR était la moins improbable. Maintenant que cette intervention a déjà eu lieu, comme nous l'avons vu dans notre article sur les scénarios d'intervention, les scénarios de «victoire totale» sont considérés comme des sous-scénarios du scénario 2: intervention plutôt que des scénarios indépendants. En tant que tel, cela se reflétera dans […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Le baril de poudre du Moyen-Orient et la grande bataille de Raqqa

Alors que les événements s'accélèrent tant en Syrie sur le champ de bataille que dans la région, cet article surveille et analyse ces développements. Il cherche à répondre à la question suivante: l'état actuel de la situation augmente-t-il ou au contraire diminue-t-il la probabilité d'une intensification de l'escalade turque contre les Kurdes syriens et, de facto, le nord de la Syrie? Nous allons d'abord regarder la course qui se déroule sur le champ de bataille syrien autour de la bataille de Raqqa et vers Deir es-Zor, en y abordant en outre l'entrée d'un nouveau niveau d'influence iranienne. Nous nous pencherons ensuite sur l'évolution de la crise autour du Qatar, soulignant notamment les impacts sur la Turquie et la manière dont cette crise et la bataille de Raqqa se nourrissent pour accroître le risque pour […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
8 juin 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Notez l’importance de l’incertitude géopolitique pour les entreprises, illustrée une fois de plus par la crise diplomatique avec le Qatar jusqu’à présent… Pourtant, le secteur des entreprises n’a pas besoin de subir les incertitudes politiques et géopolitiques, mais peut utiliser les mêmes outils et méthodes que ceux utilisés […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly -
18 mai 2017

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… pour identifier et surveiller les incertitudes politiques et géopolitiques. Chaque section porte sur des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen pratique […]

Les Emirats Arabes Unis et la nouvelle route de la soie chinoise

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) and China are negotiating, at the highest level, the integration of the UAE into the Chinese New Silk Road (NSR) initiative, also called the “One Belt, One Road” (OBOR) initiative (Sarah Townsend, “UAE and China “working to restore silk road trading route””, Arabian Business.com, 13 December 2015). This move corresponds to the convergence of the Chinese and Emirati grand strategies. This confluence is based on an already thriving relationship between China and the UAE, which represents one-fifth of the Sino-Arab trade for the Gulf countries, with China being the UAE’s second import partner after India (Muhammad Zulfikar Rakhmat, “The UAE and China’s thriving partnership”, Monthly Monitor Report, A Gulf States Analytics Report, June 2015). Beyond these more “classical” […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La grande stratégie des EAU pour l'avenir - de la terre à l'espace

Les Emirats Arabes Unis (EAU) élaborent une grande stratégie pour assurer sa sécurité mondiale au 21ème siècle. En 2010, le gouvernement des Émirats arabes unis a publié la «Vision des Émirats arabes unis 2021», qui établit la volonté «d'assurer un développement durable». En 2011, les autorités politiques des Émirats arabes unis ont créé un centre national de recherche sur le milieu marin. En 2014, ils ont créé le […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly - 28 avril 2016

Chaque semaine, notre analyse recueille des signaux faibles - et moins faibles -… Chaque section traite des signaux liés à un thème spécifique: le monde (politique internationale et géopolitique); économie; science; analyse, stratégie et avenir; technologie et armes; énergie et environnement. Cependant, dans un monde complexe, les catégories ne sont qu'un moyen commode de présenter des informations lorsque des faits et des événements interagissent […]

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No100, 16 mai 2013

Balayage d'horizon pour la sécurité nationale n ° 100 - Redessiner la carte stratégique et géopolitique mondiale: de la guerre civile syrienne et de son impact sur la région et au-delà, avec ses nombreuses incertitudes, alliances mouvantes et dilemmes, à la tension incessante entre le Diaoyu et la Chine-Japon / Les îles Senkaku, malgré la ruée vers l’Arctique, sans oublier le bourbier européen et sa polarisation aux multiples facettes apparemment lente, c’est en fait la carte politique et stratégique mondiale qui est en train d’être redessinée. Cela ressemble encore au brouillard de la guerre… ou plutôt des guerres, des crises et des batailles présentes et, malheureusement, à venir.

FR
EN FR

Evaluating Likelihoods for the Future of Libya – A Salafist Victory?

In this article, we shall assess the likelihood of a total victory in Libya in the medium term by al-Qaeda and the Islamic State. By victory, we mean a complete victory by one side over its adversaries, which is not imposed from the top down by external powers. In the previous article, we evaluated the likelihood for the lasting victory of each government, finding that a COR victory was least unlikely. Now that intervention is already occurring, as we saw in our article on intervention scenarios, the “Salafist Victory” scenarios are considered sub-scenarios of Scenario 2: Intervention instead of independent scenarios. As such, this will be reflected in the indicators, mapping and likelihoods. Indeed, as events unfolded and intervention took… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Evaluating Likelihoods for the Future of Libya – Scenarios of Victories (2)

In this article, we shall assess the likelihood of a lasting victory by the GNC, GNA, and COR—in other words, the ability of each government to not only achieve victory, but also to maintain lasting control. By victory, we mean a complete victory by one side over its adversaries, which is not imposed from the top down by external powers. In the previous article, we evaluated the likelihood for the initial victory of each government, finding that a COR victory was least unlikely. Now that intervention is already occurring, as we saw in our article on intervention scenarios, the “Total Victory” scenarios are considered sub-scenarios of Scenario 2: Intervention instead of independent scenarios. As such, this will be reflected in… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Middle East Powder Keg and the Great Battle for Raqqa

As events accelerate both within Syria on the battlefield and in the region, this article monitors and analyse these developments. It seeks to answer the question: do the unfolding states of affairs increase, or on the contrary decrease, the likelihood to see an intensification of Turkish escalation against the Syrian Kurds and, de facto, Northern Syria? We shall look first at the race that is taking place on the Syrian battlefield around the Battle of Raqqa and towards Deir es-Zor, there addressing furthermore the entrance of a new level of Iranian influence. We shall then turn to the evolving crisis around Qatar, pointing out notably impacts on Turkey and how  that crisis and the Battle of Raqqa feed into each other to heighten the risk to… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
8 June 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Note the importance of geopolitical uncertainty for businesses, as exemplified once more with the so far diplomatic crisis with Qatar… Yet, the corporate sector needs not being prey to political and geopolitical uncertainty but can use the same tools and methods as those used… Read More

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly –
18 May 2017

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… for identifying and monitoring political and geopolitical uncertainty. Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient… Read More

The UAE and the Chinese New Silk Road

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) and China are negotiating, at the highest level, the integration of the UAE into the Chinese New Silk Road (NSR) initiative, also called the “One Belt, One Road” (OBOR) initiative (Sarah Townsend, “UAE and China “working to restore silk road trading route””, Arabian Business.com, 13 December 2015). This move corresponds to the convergence of the Chinese and Emirati grand strategies. This confluence is based on an already thriving relationship between China and the UAE, which represents one-fifth of the Sino-Arab trade for the Gulf countries, with China being the UAE’s second import partner after India (Muhammad Zulfikar Rakhmat, “The UAE and China’s thriving partnership”, Monthly Monitor Report, A Gulf States Analytics Report, June 2015). Beyond these more “classical”… Read More

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The UAE Grand Strategy for the Future – from Earth to Space

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is devising a grand strategy to ensure its global security during the 21st century. In 2010, the UAE’s government published the “UAE Vision 2021”, establishing the will “to ensure a sustainable development”. In 2011, the UAE’s political authorities created a national marine environment research centre. In 2014, they created the… Read More

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly – 28 April 2016

Each week our scan collects weak – and less weak – signals… Each section focuses on signals related to a specific theme: world (international politics and geopolitics); economy; science; analysis, strategy and futures; technology and weapons; energy and environment. However, in a complex world, categories are merely a convenient way to present information, when facts and events interact… Read More

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No100, 16 May 2013

Horizon Scanning for National Security No100 – Redrawing the global strategic and geopolitical map: From the Syrian civil war and its impact on the region and beyond, with its many uncertainties, moving alliances and dilemmas, to the China-Japan unrelenting tension over the Diaoyu/Senkaku Islands, through the rush for the Arctic, without forgetting the European quagmire and its multi-faceted apparently slow-moving polarization, this is actually the global political and strategic map that is being redrawn. How it will look like is still shrouded in the fog of war … or rather of wars, crises, and battles, present and, unfortunately, to come.