Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - Scénario 2 Augmentation des débordements et de la partition

Comme nous en avons discuté dans l'article précédent, il y a déjà intervention et débordement - nous avons donc déterminé la probabilité de trois scénarios de partition pendant l'intervention et les débordements étaient hautement improbables. Dans cet article, nous discuterons de l'organisation, des indicateurs et de la probabilité que les divers scénarios de débordement se produisent en cas de partition et sans partition. Lorsqu’on discute des conséquences potentielles des débordements, le nord se réfère à l’Europe; Est fait référence à l'Egypte; le sud fait référence au Niger et au Tchad; et ouest se réfère à l'Algérie et à la Tunisie. Remarque: dans l'article suivant, nous utiliserons l'acronyme COR pour Conseil des représentants (nationalistes), GNC pour Congrès général national (islamistes) et GNA pour gouvernement gouvernemental de l'Accord national (unité […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La bataille de Raqqa, les Kurdes et la Turquie

Cet article porte sur l'évolution des rapports de forces sur le champ de bataille, notamment pour les Kurdes, principalement en Syrie, mais aussi en Irak, une des multiples couches d'interactions à prendre en compte autour de la bataille de Raqqa contre l'État islamique. Il fait partie d'une série visant à déchiffrer la […]

Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - Scénario 2 Partition

Nous allons maintenant discuter de l'organisation, des indicateurs et de la probabilité des différents scénarios de partition, après avoir détaillé les indicateurs et déterminé la probabilité d'intervention dans le dernier article. Note: Dans l'article suivant, nous utiliserons l'acronyme COR pour Conseil des représentants (nationalistes), GNC pour Congrès général national (islamistes) et GNA pour Gouvernement d’accord national (gouvernement d’union) soutenu par l’ONU. Organisation des scénarios et des indicateurs Etant donné que des acteurs externes interviennent déjà en Libye, comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, ainsi que le fait que les pays environnants sont confrontés à la migration, à la contrebande et aux effets jihadistes de la guerre civile en Libye, nous avons organisé les scénarios parent ces certitudes. La prochaine branche de scénarios, qui ne s'est pas encore produite, est […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Évaluation des probabilités pour la Libye - intervention du scénario 2

Après avoir organisé les scénarios et détaillé la méthodologie générale du scénario 2 dans le dernier article, nous allons maintenant examiner les indicateurs d’intervention et déterminer la probabilité d’intervention pour le Congrès national général (GNC), le Conseil de représentants (COR) et le gouvernement. l’Accord national (GNA), ainsi que de voir comment le cas général envisagé précédemment doit être modifié pour refléter la réalité sur le terrain lorsque les interventions ont commencé. Les récits initiaux des scénarios d’intervention sont disponibles ici (scénarios 2 (1) à 2 (9)). Remarque: nous utiliserons l'acronyme COR pour le Conseil des représentants (nationalistes), GNC pour le Congrès national général (islamistes) et GNA pour le gouvernement d'entente nationale soutenu par l'ONU (gouvernement d'union). Arbres de scénarios pour […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Évaluation des probabilités pour l'avenir de la Libye - Scénario 1

Après avoir détaillé les différents scénarios potentiels pour l’avenir de la Libye dans les trois à cinq prochaines années, nous allons maintenant évaluer la probabilité de ces scénarios grâce notamment à leurs indicateurs. Nous utiliserons la méthodologie développée par The Red (Team) Analysis Society, en nous basant sur Heuer («Évaluer la probabilité d'un scénario», dans Psychology of Intelligence Analysis, […]

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 4.1 Une victoire d'Al-Qaida

Cet article se concentre sur le premier des scénarios décrivant une victoire salafiste, où Al-Qaida (AQ) devient la force dominante sur le champ de bataille, défait les autres acteurs, puis travaille à l'établissement du califat. Dans notre scénario précédent, nous avions détaillé le scénario d'une victoire nationaliste dans laquelle le nouveau gouvernement guidait la Libye vers un État laïc et nationaliste où la charia n'était pas une source de gouvernance. Remarque: compte tenu des noms futurs des factions potentielles qui résulteraient d'une nouvelle scission entre le gouvernement d'union, nous utiliserons l'étiquette nationaliste pour désigner ceux qui ont soutenu le Conseil des représentants (CdR) dominé par les nationalistes et toutes les futures factions anti-islamistes; Les islamistes à noter ceux qui ont soutenu le Congrès national général (GNC) et tout futur parti politique […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Impacts du conflit en Ukraine - Géopolitique, incertitudes et entreprises (3)

Avec cet article et le suivant, nous utiliserons l'instabilité et le conflit en Ukraine et les impacts qui en découlent pour les entreprises afin de continuer à améliorer notre compréhension de la manière dont les entreprises et le monde de l'entreprise pourraient utilement anticiper ou prévoir les risques et incertitudes géopolitiques et politiques. Nous allons examiner ici deux impacts majeurs de la guerre en Ukraine. Nous examinerons d’abord le coût surprenant des sanctions imposées à l’Ukraine aux entreprises des pays qui sanctionnent. Deuxièmement, nous aborderons les multiples impacts de l’effondrement du vol MH17 de Malaysian Airlines. Dans la seconde partie, nous nous demandons comment une entreprise aurait pu éviter ou au moins atténuer ces impacts, nous utiliserons ce que nous avons appris pour identifier les principaux enseignements permettant d'améliorer la prospective stratégique et […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye - Sc 3.2 Une Libye nationaliste

Cet article porte sur le deuxième scénario décrivant la victoire totale d'une faction libyenne, dans laquelle la coalition nationaliste - fidèle à un gouvernement non islamiste et nationaliste - est victorieuse et guide la Libye vers un État laïc et nationaliste où la charia n'est pas une source. de la gouvernance. Dans notre scénario précédent, nous avions détaillé le scénario d'une victoire islamiste dans lequel le nouveau gouvernement, progressivement, avec des voies différentes en fonction de la vitesse, appliquait la charia et mettait la Libye sur la voie d'un État islamique. Remarque: compte tenu des noms futurs des factions potentielles qui résulteraient d'une nouvelle scission entre le gouvernement d'union, nous utiliserons l'étiquette nationaliste pour désigner ceux qui ont soutenu le Conseil de représentants (CdR) dominé par les nationalistes […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

La guerre de Libye se propage en Egypte, en Algérie, au Niger et en Europe - Scénarios pour l'avenir de la Libye

Cet article est le deuxième de notre série qui se concentre sur des scénarios décrivant l'étendue des retombées susceptibles de découler de la guerre en Libye. Dans notre article précédent, nous avons détaillé deux scénarios de débordement qui déclenchent une guerre renouvelée englobant plus que la Libye. Nous avons discuté d'un cas de contagion dans une direction - où l'Europe est entraînée dans cette guerre renouvelée, ainsi que dans deux cas, où l'Algérie et le Niger sont également entraînés dans la guerre. Dans cet article, nous conclurons les scénarios de débordement par une contagion dans toutes les directions (ouest vers l'Algérie, sud vers le Niger, est vers l'Egypte et le nord vers l'Europe). Il est important de noter nos choix pour les sous-scénarios de débordement. Il y a […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Combattre le terrorisme de l'État islamique chez soi - La troisième voie

On 12 and 13 June 2016, two terrorist attacks claimed by the Islamic State (also known as ISIS) reminded the Western population, with immediate impact on the U.K. “Brexit” polls (see below), that the war waged against them and all non-Salafis had not ended. The first attack took place against a gay nightclub in Orlando, U.S., killing 50 and wounding 48 people (e.g. BBC News, 13 June 2016). The second occurred in Magnanville, France (e.g. BBC News, 14 June 2016). There, a jihadi stabbed to death a police commanding officer, who was coming back from work, then killed the police officer’s partner under the eyes of their three and half boy in their home. The attacks generated political reactions showing that the debate has polarised but without truly evolving since the first recent […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

FR
EN FR

The Kurds in Syria – State-Building, New Model and War

This article focuses on state-building in Syria’s Kurdish area, i.e. the Democratic Federal System of Northern Syria, also locally called Rojava, and potential impacts. Indeed, we saw previously that the Kurds’ capacity to build a viable polity in Northern Syria was one crucial element for evaluating not only the outcome of the battle of Raqqa against the Islamic State, but also the way Turkey could become further and more intensely embroiled in the conflict (see Helene Lavoix, “The Battle of Raqqa, the Kurds and Turkey“,  The Red (Team) Analysis Society, 2 May 2017). Extreme cases scenarios ☔  Scenario War with Turkey escalates ⛵ Directly Impacted Actors: All Eurasian + Middle East states, U.S. (military, diplo); NGOs (for Syria/Iraq/Turkey); Businesses in Turkey, Trade & exchanges with Turkey; Airlines; Maritime activities; Religious institutions… ⛅ Scenario Kurdish […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Increased Spillover and Partition

As we discussed in the previous article, intervention and spillover are already occurring—thus we determined the likelihood of three partition scenarios occurring in the midst of intervention and spillover was highly unlikely. In this article, we shall discuss the organization, indicators, and likelihood of the various spillover scenarios occurring both in the event of partition and without partition. When discussing the potential directions of spillover, north refers to Europe; east refers to Egypt; south refers to Niger and Chad; and west refers to Algeria and Tunisia. Note: In the following article, we shall use the acronym COR for the Council of Representatives (nationalists), GNC for the General National Congress (Islamists), and GNA for the UN-backed Government of National Accord (unity […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Battle of Raqqa, the Kurds and Turkey

This article focuses on the evolution of the balance of forces on the battlefield, notably for the Kurds, mainly in Syria but also in Iraq, one of the multiple layers of interactions that must be considered around the battle of Raqqa against the Islamic State. It is part of a series aiming at deciphering the […]

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Partition

We shall now discuss the organization, indicators, and likelihood of the various partition scenarios, after having detailed the indicators and determined the likelihood for intervention in the last article. Note: In the following article, we shall use the acronym COR for the Council of Representatives (nationalists), GNC for the General National Congress (Islamists), and GNA for the UN-backed Government of National Accord (unity government). Organizing the Scenarios and Indicators Considering that external actors are already intervening in Libya, as we saw previously, as well as the fact that surrounding countries are experiencing migrant, smuggling, and jihadist spillover from Libya’s civil war, we organized the parent scenarios to account for these certainties. The next branch of scenarios—which have not occurred yet—are […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya – Scenario 2 Intervention

Having organized the scenarios and detailed the general methodology for Scenario 2 in the last article, we shall now discuss the indicators for intervention and determine the likelihood of intervention occurring for the General National Congress (GNC), Council of Representatives (COR), and Government of National Accord (GNA), as well as see how the general case envisioned previously needs to be amended to reflect the reality on the ground as interventions have started. The initial narratives for the intervention scenarios can be found here (scenarios 2(1) to 2(9)). Note: we shall use the acronym COR for the Council of Representatives (nationalists), GNC for the General National Congress (Islamists), and GNA for the UN-backed Government of National Accord (unity government). Scenarios trees for […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Evaluating Likelihoods for Libya’s Future – Scenario 1

Having detailed the various potential scenarios for Libya’s future over the next three to five years, we shall now evaluate the likelihood of the scenarios thanks notably to their indicators. We shall use the methodology developed by The Red (Team) Analysis Society, building upon Heuer (“Assessing Probability of a Scenario”, in Psychology of Intelligence Analysis, […]

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 4.1 An Al-Qaida Victory

This article focuses on the first of the scenarios depicting a Salafist victory, where Al-Qaida (AQ) becomes the dominant force on the battlefield, defeats the other actors, then works towards establishing the caliphate. In our previous scenario we detailed the scenario of a nationalist victory where the new government guides Libya towards a secular and nationalist state where Sharia is not a source of governance. Note: Considering the future names of potential factions that would result from a new split between the unity government, we shall use the label nationalist for those that supported the nationalist-dominated Council of Representatives (COR) and any future anti-Islamist factions; Islamist to note those that supported the General National Congress (GNC) and any future pro-political […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Impacts of the Conflict in Ukraine – Geopolitics, Uncertainties and Business (3)

With this article and the next one, we shall use the instability and conflict in Ukraine and the related impacts on businesses to continue enhancing our understanding of the way businesses and the corporate world could usefully anticipate or foresee geopolitical and political risks and uncertainties. Here we shall review two major impacts of the war in Ukraine. First we shall look at the surprising cost of sanctions related to Ukraine on businesses of sanctioning countries. Second, we shall move to the multiple impacts of the downing of Malaysian Airlines flight MH17. With the forthcoming second part, wondering how a firm could have avoided or to the least mitigated  these impacts, we shall use what we learned to identify main lessons to improve strategic foresight and […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 3.2 A Nationalist Libya

This article focuses on the second of the scenarios depicting a total victory for one Libyan faction, where the nationalist coalition – loyal to a non-Islamist and nationalist government – is victorious and guides Libya towards a secular and nationalist state where Sharia is not a source of governance. In our previous scenario we detailed the scenario of an Islamist victory where the new government gradually, with different paths according to speed, implements Sharia law and puts Libya on the path towards an Islamic state. Note: Considering the future names of potential factions that would result from a new split between the unity government, we shall use the label nationalist for those that supported the nationalist-dominated Council of Representatives (COR) […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

The Libyan War Spills Over to Egypt, Algeria, Niger and Europe – Scenarios for the Future of Libya

This article is the second of our series focusing on scenarios depicting the range of spillover that could stem from the Libyan war. In our previous article, we detailed two scenarios of spillover that initiate a renewed war encompassing more than just Libya. We discussed a case of spillover in one direction – where Europe is drawn into this renewed war, as well as spillover in two directions, where Algeria and Niger are also drawn into the war. In this article, we shall conclude the spillover scenarios with a contagion taking place in all directions (west towards Algeria, south towards Niger, east towards Egypt, and north towards Europe). It is important to note our choices for spillover sub-scenarios. There are […]

To access this article, you must become one of our members. Log in if you are a member.

EN
FR EN